Sloppy Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very tasty, cheap, and quick!! We had them topped with cheddar cheese and onions. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I didn't really hold high expectations for this recipe. I was surprised! I was going to chop the hot dogs up and use hamburger buns but then I found some hot dog buns in the freezer... so I ended up only chopping up two weiners and the other six were left whole. I added a can of diced tomatoes and some Italian seasoning to the sauce because it NEEDED more liquid to cook the hot dogs. I also added some diced onion and maybe 3 oz of diced kielbasa sausage simply to use it up. It was really good! With the extra tomatoes, it made meals for two days and we used up both packages of buns - very little sauce, hot dog, and some cheese on the hot dog buns and sloppy joe mix on the hamburger buns! Our two-year old liked the hot dogs and picked out the hamburger. Thanks, Moonpie, for surprising me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
YES! My parents, too, used to make these when we were kids. These are great and fun and super for kids and teens. Thanks (for the post and the memories).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I'm giving it 5 stars because it is in fact really good (that is, if you like the occasional hot dog or sloppy joe). Of course, use lean beef and good quality hot dogs for better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Love "Sloppy Dogs" we always top them with some shredded American cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Totally a genius idea. My niece and nephew ate this up, mostly due to the fact that it incorporated their two favorite things, sloppy joes and hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macpatient

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Nice twist on sloppy joes! Really enjoyed it... this most certainly will be added to my comfort foods lists most deffinately no doubt or questions about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melowdie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I really expected the worst..i'm the only one in the family that hates sloppy joes but this I love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
These were so easy to make and they taste great! They're also cheap. I made it just as written, except that I chopped the hot dogs up. If I make it again, I'll add diced onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Hubby nor I are a big fan of sloppy joes anymore having eaten them most of our childhood, but I saw this recipe and decided to give it a shot. OMG! I absolutely LOVED these. Hubby was still kind of leary, but to me it gave the sloppy joes a whole different taste. The onions are a must! This will be on regular rotation in our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIE778

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States