Sloppy Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MomZilla (Evin)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
This was great! We're not big sloppy-joe fans, so I used a can of Wolf Brand Chili instead of the other stuff, and it was SO GOOD! I chopped the weinies and boiled them, first, then added them to a pot of chili, cooked through, and spooned the glop down over toasted hot dog buns. I covered it with cheese and put the whole thing under the broiler. Wrapped leftovers in foil and just reaheated them in the oven, they were great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Nice twist on sloppy joes! Really enjoyed it... this most certainly will be added to my comfort foods lists most deffinately no doubt or questions about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melowdie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Totally a genius idea. My niece and nephew ate this up, mostly due to the fact that it incorporated their two favorite things, sloppy joes and hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by macpatient

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This is very good and easy, but I have some TIPS...I actually sliced the hot dogs and put them in the mixture. Then I just took 1 bun and opened it and put the mixture inside. It ends up being a knife and fork meal anyway, so why not right? I also added a tablespoon of hot sauce and a tablespoon of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teachertmb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Good recipe! Very quick and easy to throw together. Its nice and filling too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Love "Sloppy Dogs" we always top them with some shredded American cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Moonpie, you've just won my hubby's heart. This kind of dish is so up his alley. Other than burgers, hotdogs are a close second followed by sloppy joes. All his favs kind of rolled into one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I'm giving it 5 stars because it is in fact really good (that is, if you like the occasional hot dog or sloppy joe). Of course, use lean beef and good quality hot dogs for better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
YES! My parents, too, used to make these when we were kids. These are great and fun and super for kids and teens. Thanks (for the post and the memories).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I didn't really hold high expectations for this recipe. I was surprised! I was going to chop the hot dogs up and use hamburger buns but then I found some hot dog buns in the freezer... so I ended up only chopping up two weiners and the other six were left whole. I added a can of diced tomatoes and some Italian seasoning to the sauce because it NEEDED more liquid to cook the hot dogs. I also added some diced onion and maybe 3 oz of diced kielbasa sausage simply to use it up. It was really good! With the extra tomatoes, it made meals for two days and we used up both packages of buns - very little sauce, hot dog, and some cheese on the hot dog buns and sloppy joe mix on the hamburger buns! Our two-year old liked the hot dogs and picked out the hamburger. Thanks, Moonpie, for surprising me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States