Sloppy Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Amazing! I only gave it four stars because I made a couple of minor changes. I used canned chili dog sauce, heated it up with the hotdogs in it, then put the hotdogs in buns in a baking pan, spooned the chili sauce over them (very generously), sprinkled some diced fresh onion over the sauce, covered everything with lots of shredded cheese (Colby/Monterey Jack mix), then sprinkled some cooked, crumbled bacon on top, and baked it at 350 for about 10 minutes. It was absolutely amazing. My husband couldn't stop eating them. Even the kids liked them, and they are extremely picky. There were no leftovers. We will make this again and again and again. We're hooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Very yummy ,we loved this recipe. i wouldn't change it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kc.dunn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
My husband and I thought this simple meal was delicious! I actually cooked my hot dogs in the toaster oven, and then we poured the sloppy-Joe sauce over it like a chili-dog. Super yummy! Easy and delicious :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Last minute dinner last night. I don't keep Manwich on hand so I just made my own sloppy joe sauce (variation on Ruby Drive Sloppy Joe recipe which is also on this site). The boys thought this was okay. I liked it because a) hot dogs are almost always cheap and the boys will eat them without arguing and b) this was quick for me to make. Four stars as is, five the more personal you make it. NOTE: This needs cheese. Keep that in mind when you make it to top it with your favorite cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
What an awesome idea! My family loves sloppy joes and my boyfriend and daughter absolutely love cheese filled hot dogs. We used those instead. They both loved them and I liked them a lot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmyra, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Not bad if you are a sloppy joe fan. I am so so on sloppy joe's but decided to try this anyways and it's a good twist but I prefer regular old chili dogs :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
this was a hit i used hebrew national knockwurst greased a glass baking dish placed hot dogs in buns slathered it in the sloppy joe added chopped white onions on some[hubs doesnt like onions] & sharp cheddar on top baked at 350 for 10 mins until cheese melted and bubbly....i topped mine with mustard and a dash of sour cream..its definitely better than chili dogs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvs2cook24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
What a fun dish to make! Instead of canned sloppy joe sauce I used M's Sloppy Joe Sauce recipe found on this site. Baked for about 10 minutes with cheese on top and it was a hit with my 2 yo and husband so this one goes into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UALMEIDA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Encinitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very good. A good twist on hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are good, I added cheese to the top and they were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States