Slippery Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kaspmary
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Love love love this recipe! It is dead-on exact to the Slippery Shrimp at Yang Chow's in L.A.'s Chinatown. One bite took me right back to the west coast! The second time I made it I doubled the sauce and that was nice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaspmary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
While I have never had Slippery Shrimp, the idea of this recipe sounded really delicious. Unfortunately, I was extremely disappointed. It had an odd chemical taste to it, that I gather was the combination of vinegar, wine and cayenne. In spite of all of the sugar in the recipe, I found no sweetness to this. I guess I won't be making again. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Delicious!! I made it for my family, actually we made a lot of Chinese food that night; Besides what other people think, it is the best!! It tastes just like Yang Chow in LA!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
These tasted great when they were hot. Reheated, not so much. My only complaint is that the cornstarch didn't give it a good breading. Next time i will dip in battered egg, then maybe cornstarch? I think the shrimp should be "tempura" fried.... but everything after that was great! I did fry them in veggie oil with some sesamee oil bc I didn't have peanut oil. Will make again but with better batter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Looks like the LA Times recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STAMPZALOT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Really, really special. The ingredients came together seamlessly. The cornstarch coating is perfectly light -- no need to use egg wash or anything else. Thanks for nailing a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Super tasty! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Undeniably awesome. I can't resist tinkering with a recipe, but this one is perfection as is. In fact, it is the first recipe from this site that I haven't changed one thing. Well, okay, I doubled the sauce, because ooh mama! Is it good! The coating is just right--not too heavy, just a light crispy coating. My husband isn't a shrimp kind of guy, I have to coax him to eat it. He really liked this and said he would definitely want it again. Yay for me, cuz I get to eat this again. And again. And again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Squeezer
Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
The recipe is delich!! I just made it tonight. I did not change a thing. The shrimp were perfect with the cornstarch and not gummy - you definately have to shake the cornstarch off. Give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julia  Garreaud
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
WOW!!! This recipe is just fantastic! My teenage son summed it up, OMG!!! We love upscale Chinese food and to be able to make it at home and enjoy a GREAT restaurant quality dish right out of your own kitchen was very enjoyable. This is our new favorite dish. We decided not to include it in our regular rotation and to keep it for special celebrations or for a special pick me up! We also did the same recipe with Chicken and that was excellent as well! Thanks to Angela the submitter of this dish we can ALL ENJOY IT!!! Thanks Ange...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia  Garreaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States