Slippery Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I just finished it and it turned out so well I loved it and it tasted absolutely fantastic just add it to a stir fry to make it a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
My wife loves shrimp. So I thought that I'd try this recipe out. She liked it so much, she asked me if I'd marry her again. It was very delicious, thanks for posting the recipe. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Made his for my daughter and son-in-law because they love shrimp. They ate it all and left no shrimp behind. Will make it again for them soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Okay, I have been going to Yang Chow for 9 years now and after making a few changes I believe I am about 95% with revisions. I have made this 4 times over the past 4 days (I had alot of shrimp in the freezer) and here are my changes. Omit cayenne. 1 1/2-2tsp garlic, 2tsp ginger minced, five japanese dried red chili's (I found mine in the spice packet spice section of the grocery store where eveyrthing is like .99c)sliced down the middle or just use 1/2 -1tsp crushed red chili flakes ( I used both)or to taste, 3tbs vinegar, 1tbs sherry or wine, 1/2 tbs ketchup, 6tsp white sugar, 1tsp fish sauce or 1/2 tsp salt (I used fish sauce-no salt). Fry the shrimp really well, definately longer than 45sec. I use a cast iron skillet and cook the shrimp pretty hard until I hear it start to hiss. The goal is to get a good crispy shrimp. Once they are tossed in the sauce some of the crunch will go away, but it will still have great texture. Drain on a paper towel or cooling rack. All the other ingredients should stay as is. Combine the ingredients that make the sauce ahead of time to let the peppers marinate to give it some heat and after you do the garlic ginger step and add the sauce and cornstarch mixture, make sure to let it get really reduced to concentrate the flavors. I kid you not, I sat down and couldnt believe how close this was to the real thing. Don't forget to serve this over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Excellent dish and really it was fairly simple to make. I made a few mods that worked really well. First off, I did not want to make a separate side of vegetables, so I dusted about a pound of blanched red, green and yellow pepper strips that I also in the corn starch and fried with the shrimp. Because of all the extra veggies there was not enough sauce, so I added half a cup of fresh OJ and a little more cornstarch to the sauce and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Loved this recipe! I'm a veggie kind of girl so I doubled the recipe and started off with sautee-ing julienned carrots, onion, bell peppers and mushrooms and then began adding the ingredients to make the sauce. I served it over egg noodles that had been boiled and drained and then tossed with a splash of sesame oil and maggi seasoning (which you can buy at any asian market). This is now in my regular cooking rotation and my family loves this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by astutefl
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This meal was DELICIOUS! I made it exactly as the recipe called for. I have never used a wok before to cook, but the shrimp took much longer than 45 sec to brown, like 5 min or so. Also, this recipe is VERY similar to Bang Bang Shrimp from Bonefish Grill, but this one has a few more steps and ingredients. Also, if you don't have a wok, you can cook it in a large skillet and be fine. A wok is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by astutefl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
In 56 years I've had plenty go in this mouth of mine, but last night was, as the old man put it..."a defining moment"...this was undoubtedly THE BEST shrimp dish we have ever had. OMG....we could not stop raving about it. I am so glad that we tried this, and I will be making this often. I don't know what to say, I am speechless, which is rare..but I am so pleased to have found this recipe. If you are a shrimp lover, friends you need to give this one a try..you WILL NOT be disappointed. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
AWEsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Love it! Made it all the time now. I changed nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carrollton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States