Slippery Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
O.M.G. This was so delicious. I wanted to try a "different" shrimp recipe -- something other than grilled or scampi and came across this recipe. I was a little leary at first of a shrimp recipe with ketchup in it, but you don't taste the ketchup. The ingredients blend together and make a thick sauce. Perfect with rice or pasta, and some fresh vegetables. I was so full, but I just couldn't throw out the last two shrimp, so I ate them! Hubby (who is as picky as they come) ate every last bite and told me to make it again -- soon! My mouth is watering just thinking about this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I have never commented on this site but this was amazing. I have been tired of the same thing over and over. This was a change from the norm and absolutely fantastic!!! I made it exactly as stated. Next time I will double the sauce to soak in rice. That's it perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
Excellent. I tripled the sauce and it came out great. My family enjoyed this dish.n
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PickettFence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
i thought the recipe was very good. I served it with coconut brown rice with a squeeze of fresh lime, which i think was a compliment to this recipe. I would have the sauce made ahead of time so the shrimp doesn't get cold. My husband liked it. I will definitely make this again! Debbie Swiniarski
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was pretty darn close to Yang Chow's. I like a lot of sauce so next time I'll double it, but other than that this was fantastic. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BernaC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
So good! My family loved this, I think our 2 year old ate the most! I'll be making it many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I just finished it and it turned out so well I loved it and it tasted absolutely fantastic just add it to a stir fry to make it a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
My wife loves shrimp. So I thought that I'd try this recipe out. She liked it so much, she asked me if I'd marry her again. It was very delicious, thanks for posting the recipe. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Made his for my daughter and son-in-law because they love shrimp. They ate it all and left no shrimp behind. Will make it again for them soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Okay, I have been going to Yang Chow for 9 years now and after making a few changes I believe I am about 95% with revisions. I have made this 4 times over the past 4 days (I had alot of shrimp in the freezer) and here are my changes. Omit cayenne. 1 1/2-2tsp garlic, 2tsp ginger minced, five japanese dried red chili's (I found mine in the spice packet spice section of the grocery store where eveyrthing is like .99c)sliced down the middle or just use 1/2 -1tsp crushed red chili flakes ( I used both)or to taste, 3tbs vinegar, 1tbs sherry or wine, 1/2 tbs ketchup, 6tsp white sugar, 1tsp fish sauce or 1/2 tsp salt (I used fish sauce-no salt). Fry the shrimp really well, definately longer than 45sec. I use a cast iron skillet and cook the shrimp pretty hard until I hear it start to hiss. The goal is to get a good crispy shrimp. Once they are tossed in the sauce some of the crunch will go away, but it will still have great texture. Drain on a paper towel or cooling rack. All the other ingredients should stay as is. Combine the ingredients that make the sauce ahead of time to let the peppers marinate to give it some heat and after you do the garlic ginger step and add the sauce and cornstarch mixture, make sure to let it get really reduced to concentrate the flavors. I kid you not, I sat down and couldnt believe how close this was to the real thing. Don't forget to serve this over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States