Slimmed-Down Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This salad is flawless. I don't like mayonaise potatoe salad, but this one is light and delicious. I can't taste the tofu! It literally tastes like I used cream instead of tofu. Very good. Will make regularly from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I am on WWs, so this appealed to me. I calulated it as 6 PP value per serving, which is pretty good. As with most recipes, I altered it a bit.. No green peppers,tripleded up on the mustard and added maybe a 1/2 cup of pickle juice. This is I think, the first time I have ever used tofu in a recipe, never mind silken tofu. Of course, I have eaten tofu in various dishes at Chinese/Japanese/Thai restaurants. This was, while light tasting, a great substitute for a mayo based salad. I say give it a try and alter to suit your tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
My husband doesn't like mayonnaise but I love potato salad. This recipe worked great for both of us! I added some cilantro because I had it, but it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
I doubled the recipe and brought this to an outdoor BarBQ. It disappeared quickly and no one seemed to even notice that there was no mayonnaise. The only thing I did differently with the recipe was that I used both all purpose white potatoes along with the red ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
too much celery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I was VERY skeptical about this recipe but my husband loves potato salad and we don't eat mayo anymore, due to health reasons. Tried it and we were pleasantly surprised. A little bland at first so we added a few TBL of sweet relish and that did the trick for us. Great alternative when mayo is out of the question.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was great - certainly couldn't tell it was tofu! My only complaint would be that it tasted too strongly of mustard. However, my husband did not think it was too 'mustardy'; he said it was exactly how a potato salad should taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I cut the tofu amount in half and added a cup of plain yogurt instead. I also used jalapeno mustard, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

World’s Best Potato Salad

Watch how to make this creamy potato salad.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States