Slightly Spicy Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
The first time I made these it was exactly as written, good but not great. The next time I used 1/4 tsp; of each spice, better but still not great. Finally I added a heaping 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and these cookies are worthy of hall of fame status. Everybody loved them and begged for the recipe. They were amazed at the secret ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I used margarine instead of butter, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Did not come out thin but they are crispy. The cookies are good but taste like regular chocolate cookies. I'll probably make them again but use more spice like te others to see the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I up'ed the spices to 1/4 tsp and added 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper. LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
These are great. I added white chips as well as I didn't have quite enough semi sweet. Next time I think I'm going to add a little cayenne pepper for some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess_caleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cannon Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Outstanding. Like other reviewers I used 1/2 teaspoon each of the spices and they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
The flavor of the cookies actually deserves 4 stars, but only gave it 3 because of the end results. The cookies spread so much and they are very thin. My husband didn't enjoy them at all. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
These were alright cookies. I omitted almond extract and cloves because I didn't have them, and increased the nutmeg and cinnamon by half. I also added 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper as suggested by another reviewer. I didn't find them flat at all, and 10 minutes was perfect baking time. Next time I would increase all the spices by another half, and keep the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Yummy and interesting! I used dark chocolate chips, which complemented the spices really well. I wished they were a little more spicy, but on the whole delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
these are ok, but not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
These were easy to make and yielded thin, light, melt-in-your-mouth good chocolate chip cookies with a subtle spicy flavor which my husband and I both loved--the nine cookies I made were gone in about a half hour! Except for recalculating for a different amount of cookies, I followed the recipe exactly, will definitely make them again and not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States