Sliced Tomatoes with Fresh Herb Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I've made this 3 times in the last 4 days (I omit the parsley as I don't like it). It is SOOOOO good! Awesome made as written, but even better with a dash of white balsamic vinegar and slices of mozzerella. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Sliced tomatoes with herbs and olive oil is a staple in my house. But for some reason, this was particularly delicious. Maybe it's the COMBINATION of herbs which makes it so special. Or maybe it's the minced garlic or Parmesan cheese, which I don't generally use. Just don't refrigerate this, which is always a no-no with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Definitely use fresh or cut back on the spices. I only had dry, so I halved them, but the oregano was strong, so I would use maybe 1 teaspoon of each spice next time if I use dry again. These aren't too bad; bf liked them better than I did, but he likes tomatoes with dressing. I need a bit more with tomatoes--like bread or mozzarella slices. All in all, though, easy and good. Something bf makes on his own (with Italian dressing) so we'll probably make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
I made this for my husband and myself for supper. We love tomatoes and this was outstanding. We let it marinate for 3 hours. AWESOME!!!! Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I mixed red tomato wedges and yellow grape tomato halves for this delicious salad. I'd recommend adding salt when you're ready to serve because the parm is pretty salty - taste and then add salt as needed. This would be good without parm too. Due to what I had on-hand I used a combination of fresh and dried herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This was such a lovely preparation for my heirloom tomatoes - I think sometimes we forget how wonderufl simple can be when the ingredients are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Easy and tasty, and a good use for bountiful summer tomatoes! Flexible, too - can vary the herbs to taste. I took a shortcut and sprinkled everything on top of the tomatoes, but I think I should have followed the directions and mixed the oil and herbs into a dressing. I also agree with the reviewer who recommended leaving the dish out of the fridge until served - not only does the cold change the tomatoes, but the olive oil congeals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Just made this for supper, and it was fantastic. Followed the directions exactly as written, and it was terrific. Everyone at the table agreed that a bit of lemon juice, or lemon zest in this would give it a great zing. Otherwise, perhaps a raspberry vinegar or something similar would be a great addition. Very Tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is fabulous. You MUST use fresh herbs and not the dried stuff. I also purchased fresh mozzarella balls from my local Italian grocery store....sliced the cheese and added to this salad. Other than that, I followed the recipe "as is". My guests loved it and could not get enough of it. Very Yummmmmmy!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Quick, easy and delicious! I did add some red wine vinegar to the dressing. If you like fresh herbs, then this is the recipe for you! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Gray Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Prepare Fresh Tomatoes

See how to prepare fresh tomatoes for salads, salsas, and sauces.

How to Make Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Learn how to whip up a fresh-herb salad dressing in just two minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States