Sliced Tomatoes with Fresh Herb Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Sliced tomatoes with herbs and olive oil is a staple in my house. But for some reason, this was particularly delicious. Maybe it's the COMBINATION of herbs which makes it so special. Or maybe it's the minced garlic or Parmesan cheese, which I don't generally use. Just don't refrigerate this, which is always a no-no with fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I made one big change that made this delicious, even though I had to use some bottled spices because I didn't have fresh on hand. I added two tablespoons of red wine vinegar, oh my god good. This even smelled awesome while I made it, and because of timing it didn't get to sit for long either. The red wine vinegar was even better than balsamic, which I didn't think was possible. If I make this recipe again with fresh ingredients and enough time to marinate, this recipe is 10 stars! I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
If you love fresh ripe tomatoes, you'll love this! I don't know what could possibly make this any better other than maybe some red wine or balsamic vinegar - but try the recipe as written first and you'll understand why people spend hours planting fresh tomatoes and herbs in their gardens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Made this as a side last night with our wonderful fresh NJ tomatoes. Oh so good. But PLEASE don't refrigerate the tomatoes; the chill just kills the taste. When you're done, use some nice crusty bread to sop up all the wonderful juice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I've made this 3 times in the last 4 days (I omit the parsley as I don't like it). It is SOOOOO good! Awesome made as written, but even better with a dash of white balsamic vinegar and slices of mozzerella. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is so much better without the garlic. The flavor of it completely overpowered that of the tomatoes. The tomatoes are, or should be, the star in this recipe and should be allowed to shine, with the other ingredients as supporting actors. They should point up and celebrate the fresh, delicate flavor of burstingly, achingly ripe tomatoes. As written, we found the garlic to be a "spotlight ho." Perhaps sauteeing the garlic lightly in a bit of olive oil until just starting to color before adding would help this problem, but I found that when I made the dish without any garlic whatsoever, it was just about as close to perfection as it gets. And I'm a garlic lover, so that says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
YUM! I used two bags of Romanita tomatoes and only used a dribble of EVOO because our main dish was a little fatty, I didn't want overkill. I didn't have fresh spices so I used a quarter teaspoon of each, except the fresh garlic. My littlest didn't care for it (he dosen't like much of anything, he's four) but the rest of us loved it. I think next time, I might add a little balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made this for a BBQ this weekend, it was a big hit. Everyone loved it! I read most of the reviews, and disagree with some of them. One said the amount of garlic was too much, I think it was spot on. Also, one review said it was a no-no to refrigerate fresh tomatoes. Ish, I can say that biting into a room temp. tomato is not that appealing to me. I think that cold fresh tomatoes are much better! Next time I am going to sub. the parmesan with sliced fresh mozzarella! Thank you for a great recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
A Truly excellent recipe, you don't even need that much oil, the juices from the tomatoes give it all the wetness it needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
Easy and tasty, and a good use for bountiful summer tomatoes! Flexible, too - can vary the herbs to taste. I took a shortcut and sprinkled everything on top of the tomatoes, but I think I should have followed the directions and mixed the oil and herbs into a dressing. I also agree with the reviewer who recommended leaving the dish out of the fridge until served - not only does the cold change the tomatoes, but the olive oil congeals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Prepare Fresh Tomatoes

See how to prepare fresh tomatoes for salads, salsas, and sauces.

How to Make Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Learn how to whip up a fresh-herb salad dressing in just two minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States