Sliced Tomatoes with Fresh Herb Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This is an excellent way to use fresh tomatoes. One note- they're not as good the second day out of the fridge...a bit soggy. Also, I used dried herbs instead (make sure to turn the tablespoons into teaspoons) but I'm sure its even better with fresh. Just don't make more than you think you'll eat- room temp is the way to go for serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
FABULOUS ! I ADDED 2 T. CHOPPED BASIL AND 2 T. RED WINE VINEGAR. ALSO CUT DOWN THE GARLIC A BIT. WE LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Very good, I added a half a hot pepper finely chopped per our preference for hot. I had to use dried spices but it came out great. Thanks for the nice quick side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This was very good and so easy. I thought it might need vinegar, but the cheese gives enough of a tang. I didn't have chives, but next time I'll add a small amount of shallot if I can't find chives again. Nice, simple salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This is so much better without the garlic. The flavor of it completely overpowered that of the tomatoes. The tomatoes are, or should be, the star in this recipe and should be allowed to shine, with the other ingredients as supporting actors. They should point up and celebrate the fresh, delicate flavor of burstingly, achingly ripe tomatoes. As written, we found the garlic to be a "spotlight ho." Perhaps sauteeing the garlic lightly in a bit of olive oil until just starting to color before adding would help this problem, but I found that when I made the dish without any garlic whatsoever, it was just about as close to perfection as it gets. And I'm a garlic lover, so that says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This was pretty good. I definitely agree that it needs some red wine vinegar or balsamic vinegar. I also threw some toasted pine nuts on top for some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Quick, easy and delicious! I did add some red wine vinegar to the dressing. If you like fresh herbs, then this is the recipe for you! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Gray Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallassee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Aston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This is fabulous. You MUST use fresh herbs and not the dried stuff. I also purchased fresh mozzarella balls from my local Italian grocery store....sliced the cheese and added to this salad. Other than that, I followed the recipe "as is". My guests loved it and could not get enough of it. Very Yummmmmmy!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Just made this for supper, and it was fantastic. Followed the directions exactly as written, and it was terrific. Everyone at the table agreed that a bit of lemon juice, or lemon zest in this would give it a great zing. Otherwise, perhaps a raspberry vinegar or something similar would be a great addition. Very Tasty! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Definitely use fresh or cut back on the spices. I only had dry, so I halved them, but the oregano was strong, so I would use maybe 1 teaspoon of each spice next time if I use dry again. These aren't too bad; bf liked them better than I did, but he likes tomatoes with dressing. I need a bit more with tomatoes--like bread or mozzarella slices. All in all, though, easy and good. Something bf makes on his own (with Italian dressing) so we'll probably make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Prepare Fresh Tomatoes

See how to prepare fresh tomatoes for salads, salsas, and sauces.

How to Make Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Learn how to whip up a fresh-herb salad dressing in just two minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States