Sliced Tomatoes with Fresh Herb Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Good but I have to agree with a lot of the others. I think it could have used some red wine vinegar. I will add next time. Thanks for the recipe. It was a great way to get some use out of my herb garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I cannot believe that no one said anything about refrigerating this dish. Fresh tomatoes should never be refrigerated! They lose all their flavor that way. I made this twice. Once I followed the exact instructions and everyone said it was tasteless. Next, I made it the same way but did not refrigerate it and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
What's not to like about fresh sliced tomatoes covered in herbs just snipped from the plant? Delicious. Don't refrigerate before serving though, or you will kill all the flavor. Just let sit at room temp an hour before serving, instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
If you love fresh ripe tomatoes, you'll love this! I don't know what could possibly make this any better other than maybe some red wine or balsamic vinegar - but try the recipe as written first and you'll understand why people spend hours planting fresh tomatoes and herbs in their gardens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
One of our local markets had really nice looking on the vine tomatoes on special this week. Now to get a decent tomato in Ohio is next to impossible this time of year - we usually don't get good tomatoes until July! So I bought some and made this recipe. I had fresh thyme, oregano and chives growing in the garden and fresh parsley from the market. I sliced and arranged the tomatoes on a serving dish and spooned the dressing over. I covered and left it at room temperature for a few hours before dinner. Remember, refrigerating tomatoes is a no-no - they lose some of their flavor. Well, let me tell you, this was DELICIOUS!!! GOOD tomatoes and FRESH herbs are key to this recipe. I'll be making this a lot this summer. THANK YOU!!! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Very simple, and quick to put together. Unfortunately I did not have fresh herbs, so had to use quality dried. I cut the herbs down by half. Added a small amount of sugar, and red wine vinegar to the dressing. Substituted the Parmesan for Feta cheese. Worked perfectly with my Lasagna dinner last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Great dressind,I added 1 TBSP red wine vinegar to the mix.Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I made this for a BBQ this weekend, it was a big hit. Everyone loved it! I read most of the reviews, and disagree with some of them. One said the amount of garlic was too much, I think it was spot on. Also, one review said it was a no-no to refrigerate fresh tomatoes. Ish, I can say that biting into a room temp. tomato is not that appealing to me. I think that cold fresh tomatoes are much better! Next time I am going to sub. the parmesan with sliced fresh mozzarella! Thank you for a great recipe:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
Pretty good. I think next time I'll add basil and leave out the chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I liked this a lot. If you have leftovers, they are great to throw into another recipe as a time-saver because they are already seasoned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsV

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

How to Prepare Fresh Tomatoes

See how to prepare fresh tomatoes for salads, salsas, and sauces.

How to Make Fresh Herb Vinaigrette

Learn how to whip up a fresh-herb salad dressing in just two minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States