Slayer's Sweet, Tangy, and Spicy Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I picked up chicken tenders instead of cutting up a chicken breast, and used chili paste instead of hot sauce. I used onion, pineapple and fresh tomato on the skewers. This was absolutely amazing, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Fredonia, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
A huge hit with husband and son. The only changes were: left out lime juice and cherry juice (didn't have any), used beer instead of wine, and used about 1/2 cup soy sauce as that's all I had. Wasn't too spicy, but a great flavor. My husband insisted I go back and save this recipe. Well worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
This was amazing. I had never made kabobs before and it was simple to make and very flavorful. I am kind of a wimp when it comes to hot and spicy, but I made it with the full amount of cayenne pepper and hot pepper sauce. It had a pretty good kick; it was hot, but not too hot, and the sweetness complemented it nicely. I'm getting ready to make them again for Memorial Day Weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I made this marinade, but not all the veggies called for. Instead I used just chicken, zucchini, and yellow squash. It was awesome, this will definitely be a part of my Summer grilling rotations from now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Making this again tonight! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
We loved loved loved these Kabobs! The only thing I changed was to use chili sauce vs the hot pepper sauce in the marinade because the bottles are identical and I didn't have my glasses on! Doubled the marinade. One half I poured into a sauce pan to thicken on the stove top with two tsps of cornstarch. When I cut up all the veggies/meat I skewered them right away while I had the mess out. Then I put the kabobs into a 9x13 glass pan and poured the marinade over them. This way the kabobs were ready to go straightaway to the grill and there was no need to soak the skewers. Marinated overnight which produced moist flavorful chicken. Brushed the kabobs with the thickened marinade while grilling. Grilled the maraschino cherries and the pineapple chunks on separate skewers. Delicious. The marinade is sweet and spicy. Served over white rice. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I absolutely LOVED this. I did not use the cherries or cherry juice, that was my only change. I marinated the chicken for 24 hours, then brushed the marinade on the k-bobs several times while I was grilling. Definitely a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I was only able to marinate half an hour, which really isn't enough time but I am going to rate the recipe anyway. The only things I changed in the marinade was Ouzo for the white wine (I thought the licorice flavour would pair well with the other sweet flavours in this recipe), reduced the soy to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup mandarin juice (well syrup from the can- it was already open so why waste) skipped the cayenne, omitted tomatoes and switched the red onion for a Vidalia onion. The cooks up perfectly in 10 minutes and the taste is quite good. The heat from the hot sauce definitely comes through (I used a Louisiana-style one) and the others play to mellow it a bit. I can only imagine how it would be if marinated longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very good recipe! This will be my go-to soak, the chicken was tender and flavorful. I had no low-sodium soy sauce so used the regular stuff. I was worried it would be too salty but it wasn't. I tried some of the pineapple marinated and some without and both were delicious. I added zuchinni to the skewers and they tasted great. Thanks for the great recipe Snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinForKicks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chetwynd, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Kabobs Mexicana

Tender, juicy, grilled chicken skewers with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States