Slayer's Sweet, Tangy, and Spicy Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was amazing!!! I only changed a couple of things. I only used 1/4 cup of soy sauce, about 8 shakes of Tabasco sauce and I had to use canned pineapple. I also used steak instead of chicken but I think it would be wonderful on chicken or even shrimp. I will be using this again for sure!!! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
made this for the 4th of July - it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
It didn't taste bad, but it wasn't sweet, tangy, or spicy. bland. I would choose another recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This recipe is yummy. I left out the hot stuff but it didn't seem to hurt the flavor. I also subbed beer for the wine since I didn't have any on hand. We really liked this and will make it again. I will say though that I will use small whole mushrooms next time rather than just the caps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandyLogan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was interesting... reminded me of a mai tai with the cherry juice and pineapple. I did add all of the optional ingredients, but lessened the amount of soy sauce a bit. Threaded marinated chicken pieces alternately with fresh pineapple chunks on skewers then grilled. The finished dish was less mai tai and more of a spicy sweet and sour... quite tasty with the grilled pineapple. Thanks ~Snacks~ for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
We loved loved loved these Kabobs! The only thing I changed was to use chili sauce vs the hot pepper sauce in the marinade because the bottles are identical and I didn't have my glasses on! Doubled the marinade. One half I poured into a sauce pan to thicken on the stove top with two tsps of cornstarch. When I cut up all the veggies/meat I skewered them right away while I had the mess out. Then I put the kabobs into a 9x13 glass pan and poured the marinade over them. This way the kabobs were ready to go straightaway to the grill and there was no need to soak the skewers. Marinated overnight which produced moist flavorful chicken. Brushed the kabobs with the thickened marinade while grilling. Grilled the maraschino cherries and the pineapple chunks on separate skewers. Delicious. The marinade is sweet and spicy. Served over white rice. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I was only able to marinate half an hour, which really isn't enough time but I am going to rate the recipe anyway. The only things I changed in the marinade was Ouzo for the white wine (I thought the licorice flavour would pair well with the other sweet flavours in this recipe), reduced the soy to 1/4 cup and added 1/4 cup mandarin juice (well syrup from the can- it was already open so why waste) skipped the cayenne, omitted tomatoes and switched the red onion for a Vidalia onion. The cooks up perfectly in 10 minutes and the taste is quite good. The heat from the hot sauce definitely comes through (I used a Louisiana-style one) and the others play to mellow it a bit. I can only imagine how it would be if marinated longer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Very good recipe! This will be my go-to soak, the chicken was tender and flavorful. I had no low-sodium soy sauce so used the regular stuff. I was worried it would be too salty but it wasn't. I tried some of the pineapple marinated and some without and both were delicious. I added zuchinni to the skewers and they tasted great. Thanks for the great recipe Snacks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinForKicks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chetwynd, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I used only 1/8 tsp. cayenne and 1 tsp. of hot sauce in the marinade and it was spicy enough for my family. I made the marinade in the morning, added the boneless breasts and let them marinate all day. I didn't have time for kabobs so I left out the fruit completely and just cooked the breasts. I also boiled the marinade then thickened it with cornstarch mixed with a little water. I served the sauce alongside the chicken. When I have more time, I will make the kabobs. Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Bland . . . not bad; just bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States