Slammin' Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Marinated for 10 hours in the fridge inside of a gallon zippie bag. I used sesame seeds - no oil at all. I didn't grill, but instead baked covered at 400 degrees for 10 minutes or until fork flaky and cooked all the way through. I did use the marinade for a reduction sauce (served under the salmon on the plate). I placed the marinade in a sauce pan for about 15 minutes, adding a bit of white wine to enhance the flavor. A huge hit with the entire family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IngramCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I used this recipe without the sesame oil or peanut oil. BEST salmon I've ever made. I will use again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Wonderful marinade - like one of the other reviewers, I didn't have time to let it marinade more than an hour. And I cooked the salmon in a skillet, reducing the remainder of the marinade into a glaze with a 1/4 cup white wine. Yummy, and definitely a great way to use up the last green onions and fresh ginger. I served with a florentine risotto and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
AMAZING!!!!!!! Ok this was the best salmon I've everd had! I baked it instead of grilling it but oh my it was DELICIOUS!!! Also I didnt have the peanut oil so I put some olive oil instead it was great! I marinated for an hour and wooooooowwww!!! it was moist,flavourful and delicious!!!! our of 5 stars I will give it 100 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Guanajuato, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This salmon WAS slammin'. I used fresh ginger because I like it more and I had some, used an extra clove of garlic, left out the salt, and cut way back (down to 2T) on the peanut oil since I was baking instead of grilling. Thanks for the recipe, we'll be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Very nice! After reading other reviews, I didn't bother with the peanut oil, but did use the sesame oil for the flavor. As always, I used low sodium tamari soy sauce. Marinated only two hours, my wild Alaskan salmon was very flavorful and moist. I served this with garlic red potatoes from this site and it was a wonderful combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by countrypumpkin10
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Delish! I cooked the salmon with all the marinade in a large cast iron skillet instead of grilling and it sort of made a glaze. It was so yummy! I can't think of a meat this wouldn't be good on. My family and I were discussing it and we're going to try using it as the sauce for a shrimp stir fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
OMG! this is soooooo good!!! I could literally drink the marinade, it's that good. :) Since I was only serving my hubs and myself, I purchased two salmon filets. My butcher gave me 8 oz. filets instead of the 4 oz. ones I asked for, but I'm certainly not complaining! I made enough marinade for four filets, poured half over my salmon and reserved the rest to drizzle over some exotic mixed greens. A former co-worker I sometimes see on my daily commute to work told me about this recipe and how delicious the marinade was. She suggested serving it as a dressing, hence the idea. Try it! Served with potatoes in chili butter (Green Giant brand, located in your grocer's produce section), this was one seriously SLAMMIN' meal. My hubs and I don't generally share the same culinary point of view, but we couldn't agree more when it comes to this meal - it's light, healthy, delicious and 100% worthy of a repeat at our house (and a permanent spot in our menu rotation). Thanks for sharing, Aytom! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I love salmon, but I was expecting a lot more flavor in the marinade...especially from the ginger and balsamic...I couldn't really taste them in the final product. Still, it was good and I think next time, I'll set aside some of the marinade and reduce it to make a sauce for the finished fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I took another reviewers suggestion and did not use any oil and it didn't need it. I didn't have any time to marinate so I put it in a pan with aluminum foil in the oven and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 238) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

See how to make marinated grilled salmon with a sassy spicy sauce.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States