Slammin' Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I used this recipe without the sesame oil or peanut oil. BEST salmon I've ever made. I will use again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Wonderful marinade - like one of the other reviewers, I didn't have time to let it marinade more than an hour. And I cooked the salmon in a skillet, reducing the remainder of the marinade into a glaze with a 1/4 cup white wine. Yummy, and definitely a great way to use up the last green onions and fresh ginger. I served with a florentine risotto and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Marinated for 10 hours in the fridge inside of a gallon zippie bag. I used sesame seeds - no oil at all. I didn't grill, but instead baked covered at 400 degrees for 10 minutes or until fork flaky and cooked all the way through. I did use the marinade for a reduction sauce (served under the salmon on the plate). I placed the marinade in a sauce pan for about 15 minutes, adding a bit of white wine to enhance the flavor. A huge hit with the entire family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IngramCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
AMAZING!!!!!!! Ok this was the best salmon I've everd had! I baked it instead of grilling it but oh my it was DELICIOUS!!! Also I didnt have the peanut oil so I put some olive oil instead it was great! I marinated for an hour and wooooooowwww!!! it was moist,flavourful and delicious!!!! our of 5 stars I will give it 100 :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Guanajuato, Guanajuato, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
This salmon WAS slammin'. I used fresh ginger because I like it more and I had some, used an extra clove of garlic, left out the salt, and cut way back (down to 2T) on the peanut oil since I was baking instead of grilling. Thanks for the recipe, we'll be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
Very nice! After reading other reviews, I didn't bother with the peanut oil, but did use the sesame oil for the flavor. As always, I used low sodium tamari soy sauce. Marinated only two hours, my wild Alaskan salmon was very flavorful and moist. I served this with garlic red potatoes from this site and it was a wonderful combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by countrypumpkin10
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Delish! I cooked the salmon with all the marinade in a large cast iron skillet instead of grilling and it sort of made a glaze. It was so yummy! I can't think of a meat this wouldn't be good on. My family and I were discussing it and we're going to try using it as the sauce for a shrimp stir fry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
OMG! this is soooooo good!!! I could literally drink the marinade, it's that good. :) Since I was only serving my hubs and myself, I purchased two salmon filets. My butcher gave me 8 oz. filets instead of the 4 oz. ones I asked for, but I'm certainly not complaining! I made enough marinade for four filets, poured half over my salmon and reserved the rest to drizzle over some exotic mixed greens. A former co-worker I sometimes see on my daily commute to work told me about this recipe and how delicious the marinade was. She suggested serving it as a dressing, hence the idea. Try it! Served with potatoes in chili butter (Green Giant brand, located in your grocer's produce section), this was one seriously SLAMMIN' meal. My hubs and I don't generally share the same culinary point of view, but we couldn't agree more when it comes to this meal - it's light, healthy, delicious and 100% worthy of a repeat at our house (and a permanent spot in our menu rotation). Thanks for sharing, Aytom! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I love salmon, but I was expecting a lot more flavor in the marinade...especially from the ginger and balsamic...I couldn't really taste them in the final product. Still, it was good and I think next time, I'll set aside some of the marinade and reduce it to make a sauce for the finished fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I took another reviewers suggestion and did not use any oil and it didn't need it. I didn't have any time to marinate so I put it in a pan with aluminum foil in the oven and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Seared Salmon

See a quick, high-heat, pan-searing method for cooking salmon on the grill.

Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon

See how to make marinated grilled salmon with a sassy spicy sauce.

Heather's Grilled Salmon

Grilled salmon is treated to a simple and flavorful marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States