Skyline Chili II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I made a mix between Skyline Chili 1 & 2. It was delicious! I wanted it more spicy like #2 and more saucy like #1. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisajulie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Recipe Group selection of 10/8/11. This was a pleasant surprise. I was leery when I saw all the hot peppers, but the flavor is actually well balanced. I think this would be best made a day ahead so the flavors really meld. Thanks, Marbalet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I made this for recipe group and it brought back memories of cold days as a child. This was the type of chili I grew up on. We ate it with homemade fries, elbow macaroni, or on open faced bread- similar to sloppy joes. It kept us warm and fed on tight budgets. Thanks for the recipe, I never knew there were different chilis until I moved and got married. Mom's chili always had a special taste and I now find out it was the cinnamon and allspice. We use these spices in sausage making so they do not seem out of place with meat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group and we enjoyed it (hubby LOVED it)! I did chicken out and only use 1 tsp. each of the cinnamon and allspice, but I was glad I did, as that was enough cinnamon/allspice flavor for me, lol. I used a tea ball instead of a spice bag, and loved how all of the heat/spices infused into the chili. This was spicy, but not too bad and tasty! I also added some red onion to the top. I don't know that I could eat this all the time, but it's nice for a change. I would make this again, every once in a while! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Made for Recipe Group. I am unsure whether I like this or not. So used to regular chili, the cinnamon and allspice take me off guard. And no, cinnamon is not a sweet flavor, but because it is mainly used in sweets, it is hard to judge in an entree like this. It is spicy, and I didn't use the dried chilis, subbing in some homemade ground red chili powder instead. Served over spaghetti, with cojack and sour cream. Each bite begged for another, but still retained that cinnamon aftertaste. I also made regular chili at the same time and much prefer it. I have never had Skyline or Cinncinati Chili, and so have nothing to base it on if it is comparable to those. My understanding is it has chocolate in it also. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Recipe Group Selection: 15, October '11 - My husband loved this dinner. I had to make it without the dried red chile peppers - after going to 3 stores trying to find them. I used fresh red chile peppers instead. This was loaded with flavor and some zip from the chile's, red pepper flakes and chili powder. I served it over pasta and topped with sharp cheddar cheese and a little diced purple onion. We had cottage cheese as a side dish with this. I do have 2 bags in the freezer for another time. Thanks MARBALET for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This is great Cincinnati chili! "Medium sweat" as far as spiciness. I served it over spaghetti pasta topped with shredded colby/jack cheese and chopped sweet onion. It was definitely different from the chili's we are used to eating. Had a sweet flavor and the cinnamon and allspice was kinda weird, but was definitely complimentary in flavor. I thought it was worth the effort and time to make. I added a little water to the meat when I browned it so it would break down into fine particles instead of crumbles. My hubby didn't like this at all, but he was a trooper and ate his plateful anyway. He said he doesn't like "Yankee chili". My son and I liked ours so much we both gave it 5 stars... I guess it is just a matter of taste. This isn't a traditional Texas style tomato, chili pepper, and meat type chili...if that is what you expect this is not it. If you like "Cincinnati chili" then I do recommend this! This chili freezes and reheats very well. Be forewarned though: it gets spicier after freezing and reheating! Thanks Holly!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2003
I made this and was very happy with the results. It is similar to the Cincinatti Chili recipe that I use and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Leuschner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2000
This chili tasted great! A touch of sweetness makes it stand out from the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States