Skyline Chili I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is THE Skyline Chili! I usually double the recipe and freeze some. But I do NOT double the chili powder. And I always add a little extra cinnamon - and add a couple of tablespoons of sugar. This is a sweet chili, but all that chili powder makes it too much like regular chili. The secret is in constantly stirring the beef while it is browning so it turns out very fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Everyone in my office raved about how this smelled when I made it. Tastes better the next day after all the spices have a chance to really mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crownsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Made 3 tweaks to the recipe as written. Halved the cinnamon, added 1oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and added 1 tsp of red pepper flakes. Turned out great. The 12 hours in the crockpot is a must to blend and even out the flavors. Made perfect chili dogs, and will next use this mix for chili cheese dip on a Sunday game day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davejschultz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shakopee, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. All you can taste is the cinnamon and allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillDana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I grew up in Cincy and this is acceptably close! Defiantly blend the meat and add cocoa. Don't forget lots of diced raw onions and shredded cheddar on finished product and oyster crackers! Enjoy this unique dish! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I lived in Cincinnati for a summer. During my time there I developed a craving for Skyline and Graeter's ice cream. Since moving back to Michigan, I still crave the Skyline. This recipe hits the spot. It IS what I remember. It may not be exact, but it captures the uniqueness of Skyline. Based on other reviews ,I made the following changes: -added 2 oz. unsweetened chocolate (too much next time I'll go with 1 oz.) -I used Worcestershire sauce instead of steak sauce -I added water while browning the beef to break it apart and achieve the Skyline consistency. -From Skyline recipe 2 I added bayleaf and garlic cloves. -cut the cinnamon in half. It should be noted that official canned Skyline lists paprika as one of the ingredients. Lastly, people should understand that this chili recipe is not your standard american chili. It is more of a sauce to be used over other things. Serve it over noodles or a hot dog with a ton of cheese (cheddar I think) and oyster crackers as a side. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
I made a mix between Skyline Chili 1 & 2. It was delicious! I wanted it more spicy like #2 and more saucy like #1. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisajulie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Was okay, but I won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loves2Cook
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I don't know if this is close to the real Skyline Chili or not, but it is really good stuff! I had made mac and cheese for my 3 yr old, so I served it over that instead of spaghetti. And my husband used it to make chili dogs with sauteed onion. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Photo by mahadi087
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Good one! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mahadi087

Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

How to Make Pressure Cooker Beef Chili

See how quick and easy it is to make chili in your pressure cooker.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States