Sky High Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
i'm a huge fof yorkshire pudding and use the drippings from my beef roast to make it, comes out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
WOW! For many years we have been making yorkshire pudding at Christmas, and it always ends up flat and greasy. This recipie was completely different and turned out great even though I added the oil to the batter instead of the cupcake pan! Once I realized that I did it wrong, I just put a little of the drippings in the cupcake pan and used the batter with the vegetable oil. They were awesome and very tall, probably a little crunchier than in the picture, but really good! I also added a little salt, and followed the other suggestions about milk and eggs at room temp and letting the batter sit for an hour before cooking it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Made these last night for Christmas dinner. They turned out great considering it was my first time making Yorkshire Pudding. Served with prime rib, mased potatoes and beef gravy. Family loved them, but I think they needed MORE salt. I added 1/4 tsp, but that wasn't enough. I'll add more next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foresthill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Easy to make. The hardest part was keeping them from flopping - i.e. leave them in the oven at a low heat until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
So easy, yet so impressive! Rose beautifully...4 stars only because the original recipe lacks salt and the yield is off. I made a half recipe, added a scant half teaspoon of salt and it made 12 muffin sized Yorkies. I also used beef drippings instead of vegetable oil. Mine were ready at the shorter baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This recipe needs salt. Somehow I forgot to add any even *after* reading plenty of reviews that suggested it. On a brighter note... it make lovely high-rising Yorkshires! I used beef drippings from a rib roast rather than vegetable oil, but I'm encouraged to make these much more often with veg oil, or other drippings. Like other reviewers, I halved this recipe and was still able to make around 10 "servings" in a regular size muffin tin. I out "servings" in quotes because DBF and I each ate 3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I have made this recipe so many times. I agree it needs a little bit of salt, but the puddings always come out perfectly and beautifully puffed! I love this recipe and use it every time I make roast beast! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
1/4 cup in each section of muffin tin doesn't seem like enough batter (12servings x 1/4 cup = 3cups) Recipe makes 5 cups of batter.I did not have luck with following these directions and they came out flat & bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was fun, I served it to girls at a Harry Potter themed party. If I make them again, I think a little salt would really help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
THESE SKY HIGH YORKSHIRE ARE THE BEST EVER... Wow. I've been trying to make YPs for many years, unsuccessfully....in the past they either stick to the pan, NEVER hold their height.....and are just poopy. These were awesome. Tall, fall right out of the pan (no knife needed), no fancy 'chill this, bring this to room temperature,' rules, and to top it all off they hold their height. Amazing. I've made them successfully with both white flour and whole wheat. Nummy nummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States