Sky High Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Made these last night for Christmas dinner. They turned out great considering it was my first time making Yorkshire Pudding. Served with prime rib, mased potatoes and beef gravy. Family loved them, but I think they needed MORE salt. I added 1/4 tsp, but that wasn't enough. I'll add more next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foresthill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Easy to make. The hardest part was keeping them from flopping - i.e. leave them in the oven at a low heat until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
So easy, yet so impressive! Rose beautifully...4 stars only because the original recipe lacks salt and the yield is off. I made a half recipe, added a scant half teaspoon of salt and it made 12 muffin sized Yorkies. I also used beef drippings instead of vegetable oil. Mine were ready at the shorter baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
This recipe needs salt. Somehow I forgot to add any even *after* reading plenty of reviews that suggested it. On a brighter note... it make lovely high-rising Yorkshires! I used beef drippings from a rib roast rather than vegetable oil, but I'm encouraged to make these much more often with veg oil, or other drippings. Like other reviewers, I halved this recipe and was still able to make around 10 "servings" in a regular size muffin tin. I out "servings" in quotes because DBF and I each ate 3!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I have made this recipe so many times. I agree it needs a little bit of salt, but the puddings always come out perfectly and beautifully puffed! I love this recipe and use it every time I make roast beast! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
1/4 cup in each section of muffin tin doesn't seem like enough batter (12servings x 1/4 cup = 3cups) Recipe makes 5 cups of batter.I did not have luck with following these directions and they came out flat & bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was fun, I served it to girls at a Harry Potter themed party. If I make them again, I think a little salt would really help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
THESE SKY HIGH YORKSHIRE ARE THE BEST EVER... Wow. I've been trying to make YPs for many years, unsuccessfully....in the past they either stick to the pan, NEVER hold their height.....and are just poopy. These were awesome. Tall, fall right out of the pan (no knife needed), no fancy 'chill this, bring this to room temperature,' rules, and to top it all off they hold their height. Amazing. I've made them successfully with both white flour and whole wheat. Nummy nummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Absolutely fantastic! I used to buy the packaged mix but, as my boys have gotten older (and their appetites bigger!), I decided to try making from scratch. I've tried a few other recipes that turned out "okay" but this one is FABULOUS and got rave reviews from everybody at a family dinner. Definitely recommend, came out perfectly. Followed recipe/directions exactly, no changes or substitutions. Thank you to the Submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Coming from England, I have been brought up on Yorkshire pudding and no roast beef dinner could ever be complete with out them. I have used the same recipe for many years, but read all the reviews so decided to give this one a try. These were just as good, as long as you add a pinch of salt (I know we are all trying to cut down on of salt intake, but Yorkshire puddings are not the same without it). The other points I wanted to mention is to make sure your ingredients are at room temperature before you begin and when mixing, make as fluffy as you can, the more air you get into the mixture the better. My Grandma always told me to let the batter sit for a good 20 minutes before putting into the pans. This has always worked well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 161-170 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States