Sky High Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this today and came out good. I did add a pinch of salt. Do prepare your batter and let rest for an hour, room temp. Same thing with eggs and milk, room temp. What a difference it makes. My dil lived in England for quite sometime and she loved them. I served with Braised pork chops recipe from here. Double the gravy. Rice and beans, avocado. We had a feast. Ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilmany64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My house still smells like smoking oil, but it was worth it! I combined the eggs and milk about an hour ahead of time and left them out on the counter to get to room temperature. I used olive oil, which didn't seem to smoke visibly. After about 15 minutes in the oven with no visible smoke, I took the muffin pan out and ladled the batter into the cups. At 30 minutes, they were perfect. I took them directly out of the oven and they stayed "sky high" throughout the meal. My guests were impressed. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This looks more like a popover recipe. Granted popovers and Yorkshire pudding are related. Yorkshire pudding should use the fat fron the roast beef pan not vegetable oil. That's where some of the flavor comes from. Use a heated pie pan to bake in. Cut in wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Any one got a good recipe for the gravy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delkc1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Mother was Brittish so I know my Yorkshire Pudding. Only change, and this is a must in my household, is to use meat drippings instead of the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I always thought these were actually popovers and a true Yorkshire Pudding had beef drippings in it? As a popover they were good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
The secrets to the perfect Yorkie pudding (basically the same as popovers): First, bring all ingredients to room temperature BEFORE baking, and I actually have always let them warm up before I even mix it all. #2) NO PEEKING! If you open the oven door for a peek, you automatically lower the temp of the oven by a few degrees. These need to go into a pre-heated oven AND LEFT THERE without lowering the oven temp that leads to a high risk of them falling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Maybe i did something wrong, but these turned out like little hockey pucks for me. The only thing i did differently was i used olive oil because that was all i had. So maybe that made a big difference, but other than that i followed the recipe and a couple reviewers. I used homo milk, added salt, and had the mixture at room temp. It was my first time making yorkshire so i was pretty disappointed. Might try this recipe again later with vegetable oil and see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I have tried this recipe a few times and it seems to turn out great 75% of the time. I must be doing something wrong the other 25% I make it. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Weston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Handewitt, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Living In: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pepper
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I kept staring into the oven as these continued to rise. These get much more vertical than the ones my mother makes from scratch! I also let the ingredients come to room temp first - I think that is a given rule with yorkshire pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States