Sky High Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Amazing! I've never had success with Yorkies before. Mine are usually stodgy and dull. These were crisp and beautifully risen. I did add salt to enhance the taste. Thanks for teaching an old dog a new trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Absolutely delicious! These were my first attempt at making Yorkshire pudding and everyone enjoyed the end result served alongside prime rib of beef. I used about 1 1/4 tsp of the pan drippings from the roast in the bottom of the muffin tins, and I would reduce this amount next time by probably 1/2 tsp. I did add about 1 tsp of salt to the batter and in my opinion, it needed more (this is also why I only gave the recipe 4 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this today and came out good. I did add a pinch of salt. Do prepare your batter and let rest for an hour, room temp. Same thing with eggs and milk, room temp. What a difference it makes. My dil lived in England for quite sometime and she loved them. I served with Braised pork chops recipe from here. Double the gravy. Rice and beans, avocado. We had a feast. Ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilmany64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
My house still smells like smoking oil, but it was worth it! I combined the eggs and milk about an hour ahead of time and left them out on the counter to get to room temperature. I used olive oil, which didn't seem to smoke visibly. After about 15 minutes in the oven with no visible smoke, I took the muffin pan out and ladled the batter into the cups. At 30 minutes, they were perfect. I took them directly out of the oven and they stayed "sky high" throughout the meal. My guests were impressed. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This looks more like a popover recipe. Granted popovers and Yorkshire pudding are related. Yorkshire pudding should use the fat fron the roast beef pan not vegetable oil. That's where some of the flavor comes from. Use a heated pie pan to bake in. Cut in wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Any one got a good recipe for the gravy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delkc1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Mother was Brittish so I know my Yorkshire Pudding. Only change, and this is a must in my household, is to use meat drippings instead of the vegetable oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I always thought these were actually popovers and a true Yorkshire Pudding had beef drippings in it? As a popover they were good....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
The secrets to the perfect Yorkie pudding (basically the same as popovers): First, bring all ingredients to room temperature BEFORE baking, and I actually have always let them warm up before I even mix it all. #2) NO PEEKING! If you open the oven door for a peek, you automatically lower the temp of the oven by a few degrees. These need to go into a pre-heated oven AND LEFT THERE without lowering the oven temp that leads to a high risk of them falling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Maybe i did something wrong, but these turned out like little hockey pucks for me. The only thing i did differently was i used olive oil because that was all i had. So maybe that made a big difference, but other than that i followed the recipe and a couple reviewers. I used homo milk, added salt, and had the mixture at room temp. It was my first time making yorkshire so i was pretty disappointed. Might try this recipe again later with vegetable oil and see if it makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 339) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States