Skippy Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
Was very good. I mixed the onions straight into the beef, instead of in the middle. Used Amberbock as the beer, but would definitely cut it down to 1/4 of a bottle. Cooked it on a Foreman, so the soggyness wasn't too much of a factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by measure_it

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapin, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
Be careful on the beer, i used 1 lb of ground beef and put 1/2 a bottle of sam adams in and it made the soggiest burgers ive ever had... the finished burger was mush (what didnt fall in the grill). If i would have used 1/4 bottle it might have tasted decent, but the beer taste is really strong. ill try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2001
These burgers were very tasty and a welcome change of pace. The beer added a really good tang to them and putting the onions and peppers inside added a real zing. I however took the seeds out of the peppers so they weren't as spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangastar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
these are really good! not the kind of burger that you would want to have all the time, but a really nice change. My roommates loved them! They're really moist and they have a definite beer-y flavour...the onions and peppers are great in them : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I also put in a half bottle of sam adams, having not read the reviews until afterwards, unfortunately, they were so soggy they fell apart as I turned them over. I wouldn't make this again, but enjoyed the experience. They were way too greasy for my taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Nice moist burger. I didn't use onions, because I don't like them. I didn't use all the beer which was good because you don't need it all. You could really taste it, but I used Guinness, so it was all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
What a disappointment!!! The burgers fell apart and we only used a quarter of a bottle of beer. Also the bread crumbs gave it a very odd texture. This was not the burger we were expecting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wild combo for sure! I used 3 lbs of gr. beef and 1 bottle of suds, Terrific! I added dried onions and saved the fresh onions for the garnish, along with pickled jalapenos. Keeper:):) Thanks John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Grilled Spicy Lamb Burgers

These may be the most flavorful grilled burgers ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States