Skinny Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I substituted homemade beef bone broth for the chicken broth. I thought the recipe was a little bland. Next time will add a seasoned salt and a little pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I make this all the time. I don't use any oil, I don't see any need for it. I also add some garlic powder and I like to use pepper jack cheese instead of swiss. This gives a lot more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I used skim milk, so in order for the sauce to thicken, I had to add another 1/2 T. of flour. I found this recipe to be good but not as flavorful as I would have liked. Next time, I will layer onions with the potatoes and add some garlic powder.****I made the mistake of making the full recipe for just 2 people. I ended up taking half of this dish and making potato soup with it. I sauteed onion, celery, and garlic in a little butter. Then I added the left-over potatoes. I let the potatoes and sauce heat up so I would know how much liquid to add. I added almost a full can of chicken broth and then just poured in some FF evaporated skim milk to get the right consistency. I added some salt and white pepper and had delicious potato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Loved these! They are every bit as delicious as the recipe that usually make that starts with 1/2 cup of butter. The only change I made (based on what I had) was to not use swiss cheese. We don't really care for swiss cheese, so I used a little cheddar and a little mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is a nice EASY and simple recipe! I LUV it when I run across a recipe that calls for ingredients that I have on hand. This is a good flavorful dish that doesn't require any special attention. You scrub or peel potatoes, whip up the other ingredients, layer, pour and you are good to go. I often have a chicken "base" on hand and use that instead of broth. Also I use what ever milk and cheese I happen to have in the fridge. My husband LOVES this dish and I also love that it's something "else" to do with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Easy and delicious! The entire family enjoyed them and I'll definitely make them again. I made the recipe as directed, although used the brand of chicken broth I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was a delicious dish! My whole family was very impressed, and I will definately be making this again! My only issue was the cook time - instead of 30 minutes, mine ended up taking 1 hour 15 minutes before it was cooked... I'm not sure what I did wrong, but this dish is definitely worth the time and effort for me to perfect =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I used organic chicken broth, organic red potatoes and fat free evaporated milk to make it creamier. I did make a roux out of the flour and a couple tablespoons butter, like I would with any bechamel sauce and cooked it until toasty brown. I didn't add basil but I did add my own touches, the same additions I add to macaroni and cheese: 1 tablespoon dijon mustard, a couple shakes Frank's hot sauce, a teaspoon each of onion powder/garlic powder and fresh ground pepper. With the layers of potatoes, I did add some chopped onion. Right before covering with foil, I lightly sprinkled fresh parmesan cheese over the top. This fit perfectly in an 8x8 baking pan. It baked up very nicely and really beats any boxed mix you could ever find. I think the additions I made really made it shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
The key to this dish is to let it sit for quite awhile after removing from the oven. More than 15 minutes, I think. I ended up serving it while it was still slightly runny and when I went to put the leftovers away, it had firmed up into a very nice sauce. I think I would use different cheese to add more flavor. Oh, and I did not cook the potatoes before hand, just sliced them very thin and layered with the sauce and cheese and cooked for an hour. An easy potato dish if you are hungry for scalloped potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States