Skin-on Savory Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I freaked out when I saw this recipe because I didn't know how much 2 lb of potatoes was. I used a kitchen scale, and 2 lb of potatoes is approximately 8 medium-sized potatoes. This recipe is very delicious and creamy. Definitely reccomended! Update: I usually do not have garlic in the house so I often add garlic powder or garlic salt and taste test to see how much is necessary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
With 1/2 cup of butter anything is good! This was a delicious recipe- for those of you not following the recipe ( skim milk, low fat sour cream etc) you should not be rating THIS recipe, you have changed it and it seems unfair to the person who posted. Just sayin....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Unionjack

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This is a great recipe! The only thing I would change is the garlic... I found that adding the fresh chopped garlic was a bit strong and next time I think I'll saute it in olive oil for a minute or two just to take the edge off. Very good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toaster Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
We really enjoyed these! Creamy texture, rather than the fluffiness I usually associate with mashed potatoes. I love potatoe skin, though, and it's so nutritious! I have also tried baking the potatoes for an hour and then mashing them. Also turns out well! Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Maybe it's my fault for using skim milk, fat-free sour cream & low-fat butter substitute, but this tasted too "light" to me, like it had no substance or "oomph".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Used Yukon Gold potatoes, and put some peeled garlic (to taste) into the water the potatoes were boilng in...Mashed it all together and added the rest of the ingredients...Sprinkled a little parmesean cheese and paprika on top just before serving...Can also sprinkle on some finely chopped scallions for a little extra flavor and color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I really liked these. I'm not a huge fan of garlic, so instead of adding directly to the potatoes, i used 1 tsp crushed garlic right in the water when i boiled the potatoes. Gives a little hint of garlic but not overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chazlyn
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I loved these ptoatoes. Skins are great for you and I think red or yukon potatoes would be best. I boiled 4 whole garlic cloves with the potatoes. I used maine potatoes and they were good. I added more sour cream and omitted basil. I just felt like it had no place in the potatoes I served with Texas ranch chicken from this site. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StylinCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewiston, Maine, USA
Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
These potatoes were AWESOME! I made them exactly like the recipe and they came out awesome. I won't ever peel a potato again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MO girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
Before trying this recipe, I'd never made skin-on mashed potatoes, although I'd had them at restaurants. I'd use thinner-skinned potatoes next time, as there seemed to be a lot of skin in them. Also, my husband wasn't crazy about the flavor, although I liked it. They were really easy to make though - I loved not having to peel the potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States