Skin-on Savory Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Pretty basic mashed potatoes, but adding raw garlic was the new factor for me. I used fresh rather than dried basil, and I did use the minced garlic (at least I'm *assuming* the submitted meant minced, not chopped). While not totally unpleasant, I will not add raw garlic to mashed potatoes again. I do like garlic in mashed potatoes - but roasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I was never able to make "lump free" mashed potatoes. Decided to stop trying & named my potatoes "country mashed potatoes." This is pretty much it. Everyone loves them--and I don't have to apologize for lumps! ;-0! And that's a GOOD THING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
With 1/2 cup of butter anything is good! This was a delicious recipe- for those of you not following the recipe ( skim milk, low fat sour cream etc) you should not be rating THIS recipe, you have changed it and it seems unfair to the person who posted. Just sayin....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Unionjack

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Nothing better than delicious mashed potatoes!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Whatever you do, do NOT leave out the basil! I use fresh, and it's awesome. Leaving on the skin is SO much healthier for you. I used red rose and Yukon gold potatoes. Thank you for this recipe! I've made it several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Very creamy and the skins add a nice texture. Added a dash of paprika but other than that followed the recipe to a T. Next time I will use a bit less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
These are great! Mashed potatoes should always be made with the skin on. I took out the milk and added 1/4 cup of cream cheese and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poltzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
So good! I love the texture that the skin gives the mashed potatoes- it adds a little more substance and more nutrients as well. Works great with gravy but the basil and garlic give it such a great flavor that it really doesn't need anything added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle9004

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Easy & really delicious! The potatoes took longer than 15 min to boil, but they were worth the wait :-) Also, I would recommend using an electric mixer on the potatoes to make the chunks of potato skins smaller. But they are easier than regular mashed and are really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
These are very tasty potatoes, and the skin gives you extra fibre and vitamins......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Make-Ahead Mashed Potatoes

Make the holidays easier on yourself with mashers you make ahead of time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States