Skillet Summer Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
As this recipe’s first reviewer, I’m happy to say that while this may not be particularly unique, it is nonetheless particularly delicious. I often prepare any number of different vegetables with bacon and it has never let me down, especially when fresh minced garlic is added! Tonight I chose to use both green and yellow patty pan squash, but zucchini or yellow squash would be equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Great use of all the squash we have in the summer. Just the right amount of bacon. I did drain it after cooking - before serving because the squash gives off so much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was good. The mistake I made was not to peel and seed the squash first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Patton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Most recipes that call for summer squash use so little of it, there's a ton of the veggie still unused. But I was able to plow through 1 and 1/2 large sunburst squash with this recipes. I also added some diced read potatoes from the garden and spiced it up with a little thyme, garlic powder, and cumin. All my kids were begging for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtnfalcon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hyrum, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar Hills, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was great. I added potatoes to it because I wanted to make it an entire meal. I will certainly have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Student

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I love this take on squash. however I do something a bit different. preboil squash to tender a little and add sugar to give just a hint of sweetness. Love this recipe. I saw it as I am looking for other recipes for squash that are not caseroles and cracker based!! Suggestions? please!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Made this tonight to accompany chicken cordon bleu - it was great. The only difference was I added about 3/4 cup chopped yellow peppers to mine. The peppers sweetened it a bit, and I thought it was fabulous! Thank you for the recipe! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Uncasville, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I usually don't care for bacon in recipes, but this was good. I added some poblano peppers for color and spice. Also, I drained the bacon, peppers and onions and mixed them in with the sliced squash and put them in a covered baking dish in the oven to cook. Less fat and the flavors blended nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States