Skillet Strawberry Pancake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
I made this one morning for my family. At the time, I was not as good as I am now when it came to making pancakes so I found this and hoped it would be a quick substitute for the regular pancakes made in a skillet. This was a huge disappointment!! I followed the recipes exactly and the pancake turned out to be a catastrophe. The top and the sides were burned and only about half of the recipe remained edible-- if you would consider soft, runny mush edible. The taste was okay but my thirteen year old sister left the majority of her serving untouched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I especially enjoy this version of Dutch Baby because of the idea to heat the pan on the stove top (and not in the oven). After that, it's all about timing. I still can't get mine to puff perfectly, but next time I'm going to try a shallower cast iron pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
This was not a hit in my house. My kids(5 & 10) didn't eat it at all. I think it would have been better without the strawberries. It was pretty plain. Might try the cinnamon or chocolate variation once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebelroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Not having a cast-iron or ovenproof skillet, I melted 2T butter in my glass 8x8 Pyrex dish in the oven while mixing the ingredients. Followed nearly to the letter, only adding a few sprinkles of cinnamon to the batter as well as a drop of almond extract (in addition to the vanilla). After removing the dish with the melted butter, I sprinkled in some brown sugar and added the batter. I sprinkled some extra cinnamon and sugar to the top and it was perfectly puffed after 25 minutes (my oven runs hot, so I baked at 400). Make sure you let it rest for 5-10 minutes so it sets up well. The full cup of strawberries was a little much for our preference, so I'll simply use fewer next time. If you rinse and slice your strawberries immediately before adding to the batter, make sure they are completely dry, otherwise you'll have extra liquid floating on top. Love the puffy edges and the custardy texture. Served with homemade whipped cream and a dusting of powdered sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I made it exactly as written. It is easy to make and really tastes good. My husband even requested it for Saturday breakfast. It was sweet enough that we just sprinkled some confectioners sugar over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missouri Farm Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Duke, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
LOVE this recipe. I followed the recipe to a T the first time and give it 5 stars. I have since modified it using coconut oil instead of butter since we don't do much dairy, and I also throw in blueberries in addition to strawberries. I like it with the 3 eggs as it seems almost custardy. I double the recipe and bake it in a 9x13 pan. Any leftovers can be eaten cold straight from the fridge, almost like a dessert. Can't wait to try a savory version as others have suggested (no sugar and cheese added). Very versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hypershiza
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This is a great versatile recipe. I've made it with strawberries, and again with apricots. It's pretty good! I used 2 eggs both times and it's still pretty eggy. I sprinkled a little sugar and cinnamon over the batter just before popping it in the oven. I topped my apricot ones off with whipped cream and strawberry syrup and it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Great alternative to pancakes. I added 1/2c wheat flour, 1/2t baking powder, 1c frozen bb. My husband wants me to try making a regular pancake dough recipe but then baking it in the iron skillet. Not sure if this would taste as good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
This is simple and delicious. Based on other reviews, I used 2 eggs rather than three. I will definitely make this again. Thank you, Rita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Varied recipe using frozen blueberrys and 2 eggs, was very nice but will try's savory version tomorrow using grated cheddar and 2 eggs with no sugar. Very easy recipe but also very flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dalhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Strawberry Bread

A delicious bread made with fresh strawberries.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States