Skillet Mac and Cheese & Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was very good with some minor changes. Did the sausage on the grill then brought it in and cut it up for later. Also cooked the pasta and drained for later. Made a roux with 2 tbs butter and 2 tbs flour, added the milk then cheese, added a tsp each of onion and garlic powder then mixed it with the pasta and then mixed in the sausage. Served with fresh green beans from the garden and a cucumber tomato salad also from the garden. A very good meal and will be in my recipe box to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I used a standard stainless steel skillet instead of the recommened non-stick. I think that deglazing the pan added some additional flavor although the color of the dish wasn't as pretty. I also added some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Had to tweak it a little bit used a roux instead. It was okay I think that my own original mac & cheese recipe is better and I'll just add the sausage to that instead next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made a couple tweaks too. In addition to using vegan cheese and making a roux and creating the cheese sauce that way, I subbed in vegan kielbasa (which I pre cooked in sauerkraut) and skipped the breadcrumbs. I love how versatile this recipe was, and it gave me so many ideas. Different cheeses, different proteins, added spices, etc. I never know what to do with kielbasa besides just grilling or cooking in sauerkraut. I never would've thought to put it in mac and cheese or to even serve it WITH mac and cheese. It's a nice jumping off point, and very kid friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
My family all liked this recipe. I did bake it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. This gave the bread crumbs a crunch my family liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Birdsong Palmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was very good! I love smoky flavors and I love creamy cheesy pasta, so this was perfect for me! I didn't add the toasted breadcrumbs because I wanted to keep it super creamy. And I didn't follow the directions for making the cheese sauce because another reviewer complained that it was soupy. So I made the cheese sauce by starting a roux with 2 Tbls. butter and 2 Tbls. flour. Then added the evaporated milk, stirring until thick, then added in a 8 oz. pkg. of shredded cheddar jack cheese. This worked perfectly! Thanks Johnsonville for another winning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
I used medium cheddar only as the cheese, and this was an easy weeknight meal for us-I had bulk Johnsonville mild Italian sausage that I cooked and crumbled to add instead of the kielbasa. A repeat recipe for sure-loved it, and my family scarfed it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I love macaroni and cheese! I usually make a family recipe, but this is a nice, quick, cook and serve meal. Substituted bratwurst, which was good. Loved the crunch of the breadcrumbs (used Panko.) Cook this in your big skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
better if you drain off the milk/water mixture before adding the cheese, then thinning with milk as needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Easy to make and yummy! I won't use so many bread crumbs next time. I just sprinkle them on as I serve the dish. I don't want to reheat it with bread crumbs already on it. I want them fresh! I won't need one cup. I used garlic herb prepared ones. I loved being able to cook the pasta until it was done right there on the stove. It's very cheesy. I had to add milk at the end to get it to the right consistency. I think it was because I used a shredded mozz & provolone blend for part of the cheese because it's what I had on-hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States