Skillet Ham, Cabbage and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I just made this easy meal for supper and it was so good that my husband and I kept returning to the serving dish for "just one more spoonful." I made a few changes to the original recipe, too. Because I did not have butter, I used about 1/2 TBSP. bacon drippings to cook the onion. I also added three cloves of fresh garlic since we love garlic in our home. I added the potatoes to the pot first and then added the cabbage, which I chopped roughly. I used a one lb. package of smoked sausage instead of ham. After we put on our plate, we sprinkled with apple cider vinegar. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
Just made and with my changes, I loved it! Used red potatoes (cubed them) and more than called for, also used Cajun seasoning and minced 2 serranos and added those for more zip, also used about 1/2 cup chicken broth! Put a thawed package of chopped collards in it for more color. Turned out so good !!!!!! Too bland the way it was, but loved with changes made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Added some leeks and rutabaga, and used sliced bratwurst instead of ham. The entire batch disappeared. I was hoping for some leftovers for lunch, so will make a bigger batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Great! I added some green peppers for color, and offered hot sauce at the table. Everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
easy to prepare. Have always loved this combination of vegetables and ham. I could eat this every night. will continue to use this recipe. Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
We liked it, husbands response "This is very good" I made it as written, but did add ham with onions. Used 8oz package of cubed ham and home canned potatoes. It is easy and good. Served with green beans and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This is one of those recipes that you just aren't sure about while cooking, until the last minute when it all comes together... And then you are soo glad you made it! I made this exactly as the recipe calls for except I used the bag of chopped cabbage. It is fantastically delicious and the perfect dinner for a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by suzy
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
Family loved this recipe' will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Husband loved this. I made per a suggestion and put onion, potato and kielbasa in a large cast iron skillet. Cooked that for 10 min or so and added water and cabbage. Covered and cooked for 10 more minutes. I used vegetable magic for seasonings and nothing else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I've been making versions of this for years. I've use ham or a sliced sausage, chicken stock in place of the water, cube the potatoes rather than slice and the cabbage is always the last thing I add because I prefer it with a little crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States