Skillet Fried Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I USED 1/4 CUP BACON GREASE, USED FRESH CORN AND CUT OFF COB AND SCRAP THE COBB REALLY GOOD, ADD 1/2 CUP WATER 1/2 STICK OF BUTTER AND COOK DOWN, ADD 1 CUP HALF AND HALF AND STIR FOR 15 MINUTES CAME OUT PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOM LUSBY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
This is the second time I have made this recipe. I make it exactly as stated and it comes out great!! I have 8 children ranging from 1-16 and they ALL love it!! Now that's an accomplishment!! It is easy to cook and goes great with a simple potato or green bean casserole. I trimmed my bacon just slightly this time to decrease some of the fat and couldn't tell a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Mich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2001
I was asked to bring a vegetable for Christmas dinner--Boring! But when I brought this brightly colored, flavorful corn, everyone raved and asked for the recipe--Fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
I couldn't even imagine putting the corn into all of that bacon grease so I drained most of it off and was still left with a nicely bacon flavored side. Thanks Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
To prevent this from being so greasy, i cooked the bacon separately and crumbled and tossed together at end. All the ingredients came together nicely. Nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
My bacon was pretty 'fatty' so I drained quite a bit of the grease and was still too greasy for us. Think I will try this again, drain all the grease, add a little butter to the grease 'coating' in the pan and I also think this could use some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I do not like store bought frozen corn, but I bought some in the past because it was on sale. This recipe was DELICIOUS! My 13 year old son who does not like corn at all ate seconds!! Thank you, I will be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
This was good if you like greasy corn. I did give it two stars because 1)It smelled good and 2)It looked really yummy...nice and colorfull. It tasted like bland greasy corn though. If I ever attempt to make this again, I will definatly drain the bacon grease and add some kind of spice. It was blah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
Made this for Easter - the family really loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I've had numerous people ask for this recipe. It's unbelievably simple & so great. I used a center cut bacon to reduce the calories a bit & drained some of the fat. I have used green pepper as well as a mix of yellow/red/orange peppers, both are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BCMILLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sharon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Fried Stuffed Squash Blossoms

See how to make glorious fried squash blossoms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States