Skillet Fried Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
THIS DISH IS DELICIOUS. THE ONLY THING I DID EXTRA WAS ADD BUTTER AND IT WASN'T EVEN GREASY. THIS IS A KEEPER....THANX :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I followed the basic recipe but having read and considered the reviews regarding the grease, after I fried the bacon, I removed it from the skillet and let it drain on a paper towel. I added the veggies to the (remaining) grease in the skillet and sauted them until they were soft; I subsequently removed them from the skillet to drain on a (separate) paper towel. These options actually left very little grease in the hot skillet to which I added the frozen corn. After it was heated through, I stirred in the onions, green peppers and bacon. I happened to have pappadew peppers in the fridge, so I chopped about a 1/2 cup and stirred them in...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Watkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Made this for a birthday dinner at my house. I chopped up 1/2 package of raw bacon and fried it first. Squeezed the bacon bits in a paper towel and wiped out the frying pan since I'm not a big fan of bacon grease. Added a little butter and sauted the onion then added 1/2 red bell pepper. Used 12 oz of frozen and 1 canned corn, drained. Added a few shakes of garlic salt. It looked and smelled great, but the taste was a little bland, like it was missing something, but not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Subbed turkey bacon and red peppers- I thought it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Great recipe-so simple & tasty! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
To prevent this from being so greasy, i cooked the bacon separately and crumbled and tossed together at end. All the ingredients came together nicely. Nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Yummmmmyyyy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Brookins
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Really yummy! I made a few changes however to suit my family's taste buds:I used applewood smoked bacon insted & drained the fat. I also used 1/2 green bell pepper & 1/2 red pepper & also added a pinch of crushed red pepper as well. Absolutely added to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlyMcSparkles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I USED 1/4 CUP BACON GREASE, USED FRESH CORN AND CUT OFF COB AND SCRAP THE COBB REALLY GOOD, ADD 1/2 CUP WATER 1/2 STICK OF BUTTER AND COOK DOWN, ADD 1 CUP HALF AND HALF AND STIR FOR 15 MINUTES CAME OUT PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOM LUSBY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Too greasy. Gave us both a stomach ache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States