Skillet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Minor tweaking for perfect cornbread. I'm a transplant to the south and understand cornbread is NOT supposed to be sweet but I snuck two tablespoons of sugar and used bacon grease (yes I did) for the vegetable oil. It came out PERFECT with the expected crisp bottom! Our friends father in Alabama made it that way for decades so I followed his lead and it is wonderful! Saving this to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Live2Eat!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a good base recipe for cornbread. I made it to put into cornbread stuffing so I really didn't care if it was bland. If I were making it as a stand alone dish I would add around 1/4th c. brown sugar and 1/2 c. frozen corn. You can also always add things like cheese and peppers or even cooked breakfast sausage. Again, this is a good base recipe, meaning that it is a great start and then add your creativity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Jamil

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Hicks
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe with a couple of additions. I like a sweeter cornbread, so I added 2 teaspoons of sugar to the batter. I also like corn kernels in my cornbread so I cut the corn off the cobs of two ears of corn and added to the mixture. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I added 2 tbl sugar, didn't soak corn meal, turned out great! Will use again. Used polenta corn meal, what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Koznek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
The simplicity is the magic in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueline Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I added 1/3 sugar as other reviews said it was too bland and it came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
this was the best corn bread I've made in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Turned out very light and fluffy - I liked it very much, but I can see how some people might like a little sugar or honey added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Final product came out bland and slightly bitter. The actual recipe was easy to prepare but needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Thoensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
oh, this was good. I didn't make it exactly like it said, I added 1/4 cup of sugar for just a little sweetness. And used 1/3 cup corn flour, 2/3 cup medium grind cornmeal (that was an "oops" on my part, but I went with it). I baked it for 20 minutes and it was perfect. It was a little crumbly but seemed to firm up after it cooled more. Perhaps that is normal, I am pretty much a beginner cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States