Skillet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Made this last night and it was perfect. I like sweeter cornbread, so I added 1/2 cup sugar like some reviewers, and it was just right for me. I didn't soak the cornmeal; I just mixed the ingredients together. Only other change I made was to sub 1/4 cup buttermilk for part of the milk. Texture was great - only slightly crumbly and nice and airy. I didn't have a 9" iron skillet, so I used a 8x8 Pyrex baking dish wiped inside with Crisco shortening. It was not preheated, so it took about 25 minutes before it was done. Reheated a piece in a 350F oven for 5-6 minutes this morning for breakfast. Will definitely make this again. I'm going to buy a cast-iron muffin pan to make this in for future meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
This was really good. It did not crumble, had great taste (I added 1/4 cup of sugar but next time I will only add 1/8) and had great color. Was very easy to make and I loved how you could just stick it in the oven. It also had a very easy clean up. It goes good with about everything!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Three-star as written--to bland. After trying it and being meh about it, decided to try other reviewers suggestions and adding sugar. Decided to average it between the suggested 1/4 and 1/2--so went for 1/3. Four star after that. Loved using my cast iron skillet to make this to go with our cold winter's day five bean soup which had simmered all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I used as a base recipe for my own at home were I at honey to add sweetness to it and it crumbles like my moms cornbread and to add to it I use a iron skillet from the civil war and yes I have had it tested to make sure it was safe and it is. Make sure your cast iron is always seasoned well and oiled cleaned never use soap you will ruin it. If any one wants to know my version let me know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Excellent in taste and texture; adequately moist. I added jalapenos just because my husband and I like the zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I like this recipe but I also like my corn bread sweet, so I add a 1/4 cup of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookwithPu
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I added 1/4 cup of sugar and 1/2 a can of creamed corn to the batter, towards the end I put butter and honey over the top for a nice golden brown color and sweet pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Amazing! What I did different: add a teaspoon of vanilla extract before baking, and brush top of cornbread with melted butter 5-10 minutes after removing from the oven. Voila! Fan-freaking-tastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
All in all this is a great cornbread. I would make it again. It is tender and has a good flavor. It holds together, not crumbling like some skillet recipes. The only thing I would change is to take advise of another reviewer and add some sugar. It just needs a touch of sweetness. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRAMMIX3

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Potrero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very good. The only change I made was to use buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States