Skillet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Description says it's slightly sweet, and it's not at all. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigShotsMom
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I am not expert on cornbread, but I thought this was good. It doesn't crumble in your hand and it isn't sweet, both pluses to me. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
The best ever... and easy... heat the oil and the skillet at the same time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I've made it twice and the first time I made it exactly as the recipe detailed and it was a hit (especially with the honey butter I made to accompany it). The second time I added 1/4 cup honey to the recipe just to lighten it up a bit. It was still fantastic. This is my go-to corn bread recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Final product came out bland and slightly bitter. The actual recipe was easy to prepare but needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
oh, this was good. I didn't make it exactly like it said, I added 1/4 cup of sugar for just a little sweetness. And used 1/3 cup corn flour, 2/3 cup medium grind cornmeal (that was an "oops" on my part, but I went with it). I baked it for 20 minutes and it was perfect. It was a little crumbly but seemed to firm up after it cooled more. Perhaps that is normal, I am pretty much a beginner cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Excellent bread with the addition of 1/2 cup sugar. My husband doesn't normally care for corn bread, but ate this up, as did my 2 year old. I coated the pan with oil before preheating it and the bread slid right out of the pan after cooling for a bit. The bread came out crispy on the outside, soft on the inside, and minimally crumbly. This is my new recipe for cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
this was the best corn bread I've made in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Turned out very light and fluffy - I liked it very much, but I can see how some people might like a little sugar or honey added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I made this a couple times by the recipe and it was decent. I pre-mixed all the dry ingredients one night to make at a friends house and added all the wet at one time and let it sit for 10 minutes before cooking. I also threw in a cup of sugar to sweeten the bread. Turned out amazing. Made it for my dad (a southerner who loves his corn bread) a few days later. He ate it without butter and said its the best cornbread he's had in ages. This is a good base recipe to work with. I tried to give it four stars but Allrecipes would only let me choose three or five. Weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States