Skillet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Minor tweaking for perfect cornbread. I'm a transplant to the south and understand cornbread is NOT supposed to be sweet but I snuck two tablespoons of sugar and used bacon grease (yes I did) for the vegetable oil. It came out PERFECT with the expected crisp bottom! Our friends father in Alabama made it that way for decades so I followed his lead and it is wonderful! Saving this to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Live2Eat!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This is a good base recipe for cornbread. I made it to put into cornbread stuffing so I really didn't care if it was bland. If I were making it as a stand alone dish I would add around 1/4th c. brown sugar and 1/2 c. frozen corn. You can also always add things like cheese and peppers or even cooked breakfast sausage. Again, this is a good base recipe, meaning that it is a great start and then add your creativity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Jamil

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Hicks
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe with a couple of additions. I like a sweeter cornbread, so I added 2 teaspoons of sugar to the batter. I also like corn kernels in my cornbread so I cut the corn off the cobs of two ears of corn and added to the mixture. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
I added 2 tbl sugar, didn't soak corn meal, turned out great! Will use again. Used polenta corn meal, what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Koznek

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
The simplicity is the magic in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueline Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I added 1/3 sugar as other reviews said it was too bland and it came out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
this was the best corn bread I've made in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Turned out very light and fluffy - I liked it very much, but I can see how some people might like a little sugar or honey added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Final product came out bland and slightly bitter. The actual recipe was easy to prepare but needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Thoensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
oh, this was good. I didn't make it exactly like it said, I added 1/4 cup of sugar for just a little sweetness. And used 1/3 cup corn flour, 2/3 cup medium grind cornmeal (that was an "oops" on my part, but I went with it). I baked it for 20 minutes and it was perfect. It was a little crumbly but seemed to firm up after it cooled more. Perhaps that is normal, I am pretty much a beginner cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States