Skillet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
this was the best corn bread I've made in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Turned out very light and fluffy - I liked it very much, but I can see how some people might like a little sugar or honey added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Final product came out bland and slightly bitter. The actual recipe was easy to prepare but needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
oh, this was good. I didn't make it exactly like it said, I added 1/4 cup of sugar for just a little sweetness. And used 1/3 cup corn flour, 2/3 cup medium grind cornmeal (that was an "oops" on my part, but I went with it). I baked it for 20 minutes and it was perfect. It was a little crumbly but seemed to firm up after it cooled more. Perhaps that is normal, I am pretty much a beginner cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Excellent bread with the addition of 1/2 cup sugar. My husband doesn't normally care for corn bread, but ate this up, as did my 2 year old. I coated the pan with oil before preheating it and the bread slid right out of the pan after cooling for a bit. The bread came out crispy on the outside, soft on the inside, and minimally crumbly. This is my new recipe for cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
The best ever... and easy... heat the oil and the skillet at the same time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I made this a couple times by the recipe and it was decent. I pre-mixed all the dry ingredients one night to make at a friends house and added all the wet at one time and let it sit for 10 minutes before cooking. I also threw in a cup of sugar to sweeten the bread. Turned out amazing. Made it for my dad (a southerner who loves his corn bread) a few days later. He ate it without butter and said its the best cornbread he's had in ages. This is a good base recipe to work with. I tried to give it four stars but Allrecipes would only let me choose three or five. Weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Description says it's slightly sweet, and it's not at all. Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I've made it twice and the first time I made it exactly as the recipe detailed and it was a hit (especially with the honey butter I made to accompany it). The second time I added 1/4 cup honey to the recipe just to lighten it up a bit. It was still fantastic. This is my go-to corn bread recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I followed the recipe - it came out quite crumbly and the mixture was fairly dry (it wouldn't 'pour' like the recipe suggests). But it still tasted good and I will definitely make it again (maybe with a little more milk).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States