Skillet Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
My family loves this recipe. I've made it twice and the first time I made it exactly as the recipe detailed and it was a hit (especially with the honey butter I made to accompany it). The second time I added 1/4 cup honey to the recipe just to lighten it up a bit. It was still fantastic. This is my go-to corn bread recipe now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
this was the best corn bread I've made in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
The best ever... and easy... heat the oil and the skillet at the same time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kilthau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Excellent bread with the addition of 1/2 cup sugar. My husband doesn't normally care for corn bread, but ate this up, as did my 2 year old. I coated the pan with oil before preheating it and the bread slid right out of the pan after cooling for a bit. The bread came out crispy on the outside, soft on the inside, and minimally crumbly. This is my new recipe for cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Turned out very light and fluffy - I liked it very much, but I can see how some people might like a little sugar or honey added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
The simplicity is the magic in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blueline Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Minor tweaking for perfect cornbread. I'm a transplant to the south and understand cornbread is NOT supposed to be sweet but I snuck two tablespoons of sugar and used bacon grease (yes I did) for the vegetable oil. It came out PERFECT with the expected crisp bottom! Our friends father in Alabama made it that way for decades so I followed his lead and it is wonderful! Saving this to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Live2Eat!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Hicks
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe with a couple of additions. I like a sweeter cornbread, so I added 2 teaspoons of sugar to the batter. I also like corn kernels in my cornbread so I cut the corn off the cobs of two ears of corn and added to the mixture. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Excellent corn bread. However, it is NOT sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I tried both soaking the corn meal and not soaking. We preferred not soaking. I also added a touch of sugar. This is an awesome corn bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Chef John's Rustic Italian Corn Bread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States