Skillet Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I used the method from this recipe, but used dried cranberries instead of dates and slivered almonds instead of pecans. The recipe makes very good bite size cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I came across this when looking to use some dates. We lost power 5 days ago and so no xmas cookies were prepared. I just made these on the wood stove. OMG! These taste like pecan pie! I love them. The kids did not care for the texture, too young. We will be lucky if they make it through the day! I may add cocoa next time for some chocolatey flavor. SUPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Molalla, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I have made a form of this cookie my whole life. I added almond estract(oops) instead of vanilla so I added slivered almonds instead of the pecans. My husband just loved this variation. I never take the time to make into balls. I just roll it,log style, into wax papter or parchment. Place into refrigerator, dust with powder sugar before slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
We made these MANY Christmas holidays, with the addition of coconut. We call them Date-Nut Balls. OH SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TamaraDLMerritt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Oh my!! These are really good! My only change was instead of rolling them in powdered sugar, which I am out of, I rolled them in finely ground coconut. It reduces the sweetness-you might want to try it with coconut. I love these and I know my husband, who can't stand coconut, will enjoy them also. Thanks Barbara, for the good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
I'm always looking for ways to use dates, and everyone loves these, but I thought they were called "Date Balls". You can also roll them in dessicated coconut. (Actually, instead of rolling them, it's easier to put the powdered sugar or coconut into a ziplock bag and put 3 or 4 balls in at a time, then shake them to cover them evenly.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Fantastic! The first batch disappeared, everyone who has tried one has asked for the recipe. The taste sort of minds me of butter tarts. This will become a holiday tradition in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This will become a family Christmas tradition. I think they will have to be renamed though! :) Name: Skillet Cookies. Described: "A candy like cookie made in a skillet." Instructions - "In a saucepan. . ."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Soooooooo delicious and easy. My family and neighbors went crazy. All want this recipe. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2003
Oh my goodness, these were terrific! All in all, a good end product, and eating just two satisfied my sweet tooth all day. I had to melt the butter, then let cool a little before whisking in the egg yolks. I had trouble getting the ingredients to boil due to the thickness. Eager to make the balls, I nearly burned my hands making the first dozen! I let it cool a little bit and then made the rest but by the time I got to the last 2/3 cup of mix it was really difficult to form into balls because it was too cool. Next time I make these, I'll form all the balls, then roll in powdered sugar. A couple tips: use unsalted butter and don't make them larger than a two-bite ball -- they're very sweet and tasty! My kids ADORE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States