Skillet Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
These were really good and addicting. A very fun way to use dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Great cookie and very easy to make. They do taste like a pecan pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Truly an excellent cookie. This is one of our traditional christmas cookies I grew up with. We always called them "humdingers."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STORMIMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fountain Inn, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Wow these are exquisite! I was surprised at how good and addictive these are! I used pre-ground dates; about 1 cup. I also added extra rice crispies because I love the extra crisp. I honestly eyeballed most of the ingredients. I did cut down on the sugar. only used about half a cup, even a little less. I honestly don't know what the egg yolks add to it. I am sure they would have worked out just fine without them. Don't worry if you don't see any boiling action, the consistency is so thick, it doesn't really boil. As long as it looks pasty enough and starts to come off the sides of the pan when stirring, you know it's ready to remove from the heat and add the rest of the ingredients. For the icing sugar, I put some in a resealable bag and toss the balls in it. Very fast, and no clean-up! So easy to make, and so worth it! Perfect combination of chewiness, crispiness crunch and awsome taste! Thanks so much for this recipe!UPDATE****************i JUST MADE THESE AGAIN, AND THIS TIME I OMITTED THE EGG YOLK. I MADE ABOUT DOUBLE THE QUANTITY, BUT EYEBALLED EVERYTHING. I ALSO USED BROWN SUGAR, AND AGAIN, JUST ABOUT 1/2 CUP FOR THE WHOLE THING. I COATED SOME IN ICING SUGAR, BUT RAN OUT AFTER A FEW, SO DID THE REST IN COCONUT FLAKES. THE LACK OF YOLK MADE ABSOLUTELY NO DIFFERENCE! I LOVE THIS "COOKIE"!! IT'S SOOO HEALTHY, EASY AND YUMMMY. I WON'T EVER WORRY ABT THE EGG YOLK EITHER, WHICH MAKES NOW EVEN EASIER! THANK YOU :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Yum! Have made three times in a month. Good with any kind of nut. I use slightly less sugar to reduce sweetness as the dates add a lot. Have used rum extract also and was yummy... very quick to put together.. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Yummy! They are quick and simple to make and are a crowd pleaser. Grab yourself a glass of milk with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mckinleyville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MickeyRenee
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
What a fantastic recipe! I have made this several times, using walnuts instead of pecans. I have found that the mixture stays together better by adding an extra 1/2 cup of rice krispies. This is my husband's favorite cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
These were really good. Kids loved them. The only things I changed was that we didn't have dates so I used dried blueberries and I hate having so much white sugar in a recipe so I replaced it with all brown sugar and they turned out tasting GREAT. Thanks for the delish simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kinse10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
When I was a kid, my mom used to make these but she rolled them into the shape of a strawberry and you used to be able to buy these plastic green stems to put in them. I knew what a few of the ingredients were but she has since lost the recipe. I am so glad to have found it here. Great holiday cookie! Friends and family were really surprised by this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
very delicious recipe. i didn't have rice cereal so i used blueberry granola instead and canceled the vanilla. took the advice from a previous post to roll in coconut. and also added 1 Tbsp of cocoa powder to the cooking process to make wonderful chocolate-granola-datey goodness. thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States