Skillet Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
fast, easy and adjustable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
The easiest chili recipe I've ever made, and quite tasty too! We omitted the green pepper since not all family members tolerate it well, and added a heaping tablespoon of dark brown sugar to mellow out the brightness of the tomato sauce - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This chili is AMAZING!!!! First time I made chili and it turned out great! The only things I changed about it was I used fresh chopped garlic instead of garlic powder, I used black beans (only because that's all I had), i added a jalapeno, I used salt instead of seasoning salt, and I added a little bit of water just do it would simmer really good. I will definitely make this many many more times!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Pretty much exactly how I make chili. I like to toss in a can of beer and a bay leaf. Let it simmer for a few hours until it thickens and you have delicious chili!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeXedPiNk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
A thick chili as advertised and an easy dish to make. It has good flavor. Out of the 5 or so chili recipes tried from this site, this one takes a silver medal at this juncture. Still high on its pedestal, Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili remains our favorite. Both of these recipes have similar ingredients but I think Debdoozie's Chili, with the salsa and chili seasoning, adds a more distinctive flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I made chili tacos last night, as requested by my oldest son. I made this whole recipe in my cast iron skillet. I used red pepper in place of the green bell pepper and I added a mess of fresh minced garlic. After tasting it, I did add a few more spices which goosed it up a bit. I ate this as is with a dollop of reduced fat sour cream but the boys ate this like tacos in either hard taco shells or flour tortillas. Out of this whole skillet, there's only enough for lunch for one person today. The boys all told me that I'm to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I make chili very similar to this. I add a lot more beans (kidney, black, great northern, baked and pinto). My kids like sweet chili so I also add some brown sugar. I don't use the chili beans but add chili powder. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This is similar to the recipe I've used for about 30 years now. The one thing I do is to at least double the spices and add more green pepper. It's great if you use both red and green peppers. Never added the tomato paste though, I always use a large can of diced tomatoes. Great with cornbread or even over pasta --
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sequim, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
We really liked the chili. Before letting it simmer for an hr, I tasted the tomato sauce, but after simmering it was excellent. We did add an additional can of chili beans. Was so easy that my husband made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Made this last night. It was good!! I thought it was hearty and thick, as I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janee'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States