Skillet Chicken Picante Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Prepared this recipe on the spur of the moment on 12/24/00 (always a busy time of year). Had chicken breasts that I needed to do something with, so I looked up allrecipe.com and found this recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
A perfect quick lunch! Turned out MUCH more flavorful than I thought it would. I used my Pampered Chef Food Chopper to chop up the chicken (I cooked it beforehand) and onions and sauteed them together with the garlic powder and olive oil and then followed recipe to taste. We also used Monterey Jack instead of Cheddar as that was all I had. A delicious quick lunch, both my husband and I and our kids, 5 and 2, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great recipe, but it needs a little something green and fresh to brighten it up, so I added half a bell pepper sauted with the onion and to take this over the top, garnished with fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
My husband loves mexican, so i surprised him with this! I cooked the chicken in the slow cooker and put garlic on both sides. The last two hours, I put the picante sauce (specially made by my uncle!!!) in. I omitted the tomatoes, but added refried beans for the tortillas. I also served with black beans. Topped all with sour cream. YUM-BO!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BobK
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Rather than use the tortillas, I served it over basmati rice, with peas. I kicked up the zest factor by using 16 oz. of medium picante sauce and 8 oz. of chipotle salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
this recipe was amazing :) at first taste the sauce seemed a bit too tomato-ey, yes, but adding about a teaspoon of cayenne and the same in creole seasoning turned it from ok to AWESOME. will definitely be making it again sometime. sour cream is an awesome addition as well on the tortillas, but not necessary, it's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was SO easy and pretty darn good for a quick meal. I subbed items for what I had and thought it was great. Sauteed 1/2 cup green pepper and a 1/2 cup fresh tomato for the canned. Used onion powder for the onion (plus the picante had onion in it anyway). 1 Cup picante and a a bag of ready cooked sliced chicken. Made enough for 5 servings. Served with the cheese and sour cream in the torillas. FAST, SIMPLE AND GOOD. You really can't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I used Penzey Chicken Taco spice in place of the seasonings. I added tomatoes with green chilis to the pan with chicken, then rolled chicken mixture in flour tortillas, then poured picante swauce over and baked at 400 for 30 minutes...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was an easy recipe to prepare. My wife and I found it to good, but like others it was a strong tomato taste and it needed more bulk. It will do in a pinch, but not a regular. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
A pretty good recipe. Quick to make and comes up tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States