Skillet Chicken Picante Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Prepared this recipe on the spur of the moment on 12/24/00 (always a busy time of year). Had chicken breasts that I needed to do something with, so I looked up allrecipe.com and found this recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2004
A perfect quick lunch! Turned out MUCH more flavorful than I thought it would. I used my Pampered Chef Food Chopper to chop up the chicken (I cooked it beforehand) and onions and sauteed them together with the garlic powder and olive oil and then followed recipe to taste. We also used Monterey Jack instead of Cheddar as that was all I had. A delicious quick lunch, both my husband and I and our kids, 5 and 2, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
My husband loves mexican, so i surprised him with this! I cooked the chicken in the slow cooker and put garlic on both sides. The last two hours, I put the picante sauce (specially made by my uncle!!!) in. I omitted the tomatoes, but added refried beans for the tortillas. I also served with black beans. Topped all with sour cream. YUM-BO!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This was pretty good. I'm giving it 3 stars because the hubby said it was "too tomato-y" and I partially agree...it could use a little bit more substance. At first I was worried that the sauce wouldn't thicken because 20 minutes had passed and it was still fairly liquidy, but I just kept it on the stove a bit longer, which worked out with the timing of my side dish. But we added cheese *and* sour cream to the burritos which gave it a bit more "oomph".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
Didn't appeal to me or my wife. Somehow, it is rather spicy but bland at the same time. Only thing you taste is tomato. Certainly easy to prepare, though, and probably a good recipe for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Griffin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I used Penzey Chicken Taco spice in place of the seasonings. I added tomatoes with green chilis to the pan with chicken, then rolled chicken mixture in flour tortillas, then poured picante swauce over and baked at 400 for 30 minutes...YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This was an easy recipe to prepare. My wife and I found it to good, but like others it was a strong tomato taste and it needed more bulk. It will do in a pinch, but not a regular. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
this recipe was amazing :) at first taste the sauce seemed a bit too tomato-ey, yes, but adding about a teaspoon of cayenne and the same in creole seasoning turned it from ok to AWESOME. will definitely be making it again sometime. sour cream is an awesome addition as well on the tortillas, but not necessary, it's good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This was SO easy and pretty darn good for a quick meal. I subbed items for what I had and thought it was great. Sauteed 1/2 cup green pepper and a 1/2 cup fresh tomato for the canned. Used onion powder for the onion (plus the picante had onion in it anyway). 1 Cup picante and a a bag of ready cooked sliced chicken. Made enough for 5 servings. Served with the cheese and sour cream in the torillas. FAST, SIMPLE AND GOOD. You really can't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by BobK
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Rather than use the tortillas, I served it over basmati rice, with peas. I kicked up the zest factor by using 16 oz. of medium picante sauce and 8 oz. of chipotle salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BobK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States