Skillet Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I tried this today.. it was quite a "shock" to my taste as I don't think I've ever had cabbage with cream cheese. It tasted fine, if a bit bland. Those who don't particularly like cabbage should find this fine as it doesn't taste "cabbagy". It was VERY filling also.. the cream cheese and butter make it quite rich. Not my favorite cabbage recipe, but I could see myself making it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brokn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
If you don't like cabbage this recipe will change your mind. Cabbage can be exciting. Very creamy and great taste. Didn't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I fixed this today for New Years Day, 2012. Outstanding!!! Even my non eating cabbage husband ate it. I fixed it in 2 Tbsp. butter, salt, pepper, small amount of sugar and just a few tablespoons of water. Just don't over cook. I left ours a little crispy. And must admit, I forgot to add the cream cheese at the end of cooking, so therefore, very good without it, lol!!! I wil try it again, with the cream cheese. Very good!! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Great. I added onions, and dried shitake mushrooms. Sauteed the onions, green peppers and cabbage first. Then after simmering added the cream cheese and the prepared mushrooms. Also, I used Morton's Seasoned Salt in place of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
Good but I think I went overboard with the cream cheese! Don't drench it! I even had so extra lettuce I needed to use and it mixed well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I used olive oil instead of butter and fat free cream cheese to make this a great low fat treat. Dukan diet people, it'll fit into your menu nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
VERY YUMMY! I ADDED RED ONION AN I USED PHILI CREAM CHEESE INSTEAD OF PACKAGE CHEESE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This has wonderful taste - but as previous reviewer naples34102 stated it is not pretty to serve. Looks aside - the taste is very good. I had to use red pepper as that is all I had. It is a very quick dish to put together and it would be very good even without the cream cheese added. My husband doesn't care for cream cheese, but did not mind it in this recipe. We love cooked cabbage and I will be fixing this one again. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Not very attractive, but it sure tasted good! Even the cabbage-hating Hubs told me to make a point of mentioning that he liked it. Kind of flavorless as written, however, so I added minced garlic, chopped onion, mixed-color bell peppers, and a good amount of Penzey's Fox Point seasoning. Oh -and I used prepackaged cole slaw mix which also added color and interest with its carrots and red cabbage. Still, it's homely looking - this is definitely comfort food, not "company" food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I served this to guests with Rinderoulden & Spaetzle. Everyone had seconds everyone loved it. I used coleslaw mix & half the cheese called for. Delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States