Skillet Beef and Celery Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I loved this meal but I added a couple new items. One was garlic powder and the other for the soy sauce I used the best soy sauce known to Hawaii its made in Hawaii. Its called Aloha Shoyu. Shoyu in Japanese means soysauce. This soy sauce brings out the best flavors for cooking. I can never use any other soysauce for my cookings but Hawaiis own. The other soysauce to me is meant for sushi and certain asian cooking. So this meal was loved from my husband, my 2 yr old and my 7 yr old. We also ate this over white steamed Japanese rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I didnt want starchy so I left the starch and water altogether from the recipe. I stir fried the veggies with heated oil and salt and set it aside. We bought a high grade steak and salt/peppered it before lightly pan frying it (left it med rare). Cut it in thick slices, put it on a med shallow plate, topped it with the cooked veggies and had it with ponzu sauce (instead of the soy sauce since I didnt want heavy soy sauce taste) for dinner that night. had it with some white rice. It was fabulous. I could never imagine the celery and onion combination but it matched oh so well with the beef. Really enjoyed the texture and flavor mixture in my mouth. thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
We really liked it! It provided a way to have a good healthy meal and use a cheaper cut of meat. I used extra veggies and eliminated the cornstarch. This will be in the regular meal rotation. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I made this for my grandparents because I wanted to make sure it was something they could undoubtedly eat. It ended up being really popular. I made twice the celery and onion and added that to some steamed broccoli which I then sauteed in a little extra soy sauce and served on top of a bed of jasmine. Next time I think I would add one diced jalepeno for my own personal enjoyment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newland, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
This is a pretty good meal. I looked at my "fresh" celery and rather than trying to salvage the green parts, I opted to substitute it and the cornstarch with 1 can of condensed cream of celery. I also opted for the nuttier Maggi Seasoning for soy sauce. The broth was fabulous, but somehow it didn't quite marry with the beef. Next time, I'll either follow this recipe verbatum or maybe add the onions at the beginning of the simmering process and modify this review, accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Loved this!!! I would add more beef. But no complaints at all. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
yummy.. so good. i didn't have to add the cornstarch. most of the water was gone but it was still good with the little liquid that was left over rice. tomorrow i'm going to try it with pork!! mmm yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This was GREAT. Easy to make and full of flavor. I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Easy to make, tastes very good. Excellent over rice as suggested. Great use for an economical beef cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLARBOB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Just O.K. I liked it, but my family didn't care for it. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Beef Medallions with Fresh Horseradish Sauce

A sweet tomato salad with seared beef and a creamy, aromatic horseradish sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States