Skillet Balsamic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I tried this receipe last night even though my husband hates vineger. I did use brown sugar and to keep him happy, as he likes chicken crisp, I rolled in flower before frying.Otherwise I followed the receipe as printed. My husband asked for seconds. Enough said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Balsamic vinegar is rarely more than 1/4 cup for a LARGE recipe b/c of it's pungent flavor. Some common sense adaptations on the part of this long-time cook were to add 1/4 balasamic vinegar and 1/2 cup red wine (a good flavored shiraz was what I used) instead of the measurements of red wine vinegar and balsamic vinegar given in the recipe. Also 2 Tbsp. oregano will give an overpoweringly strong oregano flavor. Substituting fresh basil and omitting the oregano altogether was also another no-brainer substitution. We also added some reconstituted sun-dried tomatoes (1/4 cup dry or 1/2 cup reconstituted) chopped and some sliced mushrooms (we used portabella's due to their mild flavor and ability to hold up to high heat & long cook times). After making those changes this recipe was fantastic! A lot of the previous reviews claim too strong a vinegar flavor which makes sense when you take the strongest flavored vinegar on the planet, add too much and then cook it down to make it even MORE so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I used red wine in place of red wine vinegar, and added sun-dried tomatoes and portobello mushrooms as one reviewer suggested. This recipe BLEW AWAY my boyfriend and mother when I had them over for dinner. They said it tasted like it was from a restaurant. I paired it with curried potatoes. Delicious! Will definately cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is my go-to recipe for a wonderful stir-fry that is always delicious, no matter what veggies I have on hand. I even make it with just chicken and walnuts sometimes, or a frozen pack of stir-fry veggies. The ratios for the sauce are PERFECTLY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I fixed this for dinner last night and my husband could not quit complimenting me. I followed the advice of others and used 1/4 c. balsamic vinegar along with 1/3 c. of red wine vinegar. I mixed this in with 1/2 c. chicken broth and poured it over the chicken after it had browned. I also added a dash of basil with the oregano and 2 teaspoons of Italian dressing. Also, I did not have a fresh onion on hand, so I used dried minced onion. It was great served with garlic mashed potatoes and black-eye peas. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reshableu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Andrews, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I used cooking wine in place of the balsamic vinegar...it was delicious and so tender. I added rice and broccoli as a side dish. Bona Petit Sunshine Miami Florida
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is one of my favorite recipes! DELICIOUS. Weight Watchers friendly and diabetic friendly too! We put one whole onion in (instead of 2) and as many veggies as we have in the fridge: zucchini, bell pepper and green beans... We also only eat 3-4 oz servings of chicken at a time, so to make four servings, we use just 1 lb. of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Not too vinegary, good, easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
I really liked this, and it was so easy to make. Would be good with something sweet added, but I thought the tangy taste was a nice change from most chicken recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This recipe is easy to make and I have made substituions when I am out of one of the ingredients and it is still great! The smell is amazing and my family enjoys it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAWANIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States