Skillet Balsamic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Balsamic vinegar is rarely more than 1/4 cup for a LARGE recipe b/c of it's pungent flavor. Some common sense adaptations on the part of this long-time cook were to add 1/4 balasamic vinegar and 1/2 cup red wine (a good flavored shiraz was what I used) instead of the measurements of red wine vinegar and balsamic vinegar given in the recipe. Also 2 Tbsp. oregano will give an overpoweringly strong oregano flavor. Substituting fresh basil and omitting the oregano altogether was also another no-brainer substitution. We also added some reconstituted sun-dried tomatoes (1/4 cup dry or 1/2 cup reconstituted) chopped and some sliced mushrooms (we used portabella's due to their mild flavor and ability to hold up to high heat & long cook times). After making those changes this recipe was fantastic! A lot of the previous reviews claim too strong a vinegar flavor which makes sense when you take the strongest flavored vinegar on the planet, add too much and then cook it down to make it even MORE so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I fixed this for dinner last night and my husband could not quit complimenting me. I followed the advice of others and used 1/4 c. balsamic vinegar along with 1/3 c. of red wine vinegar. I mixed this in with 1/2 c. chicken broth and poured it over the chicken after it had browned. I also added a dash of basil with the oregano and 2 teaspoons of Italian dressing. Also, I did not have a fresh onion on hand, so I used dried minced onion. It was great served with garlic mashed potatoes and black-eye peas. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reshableu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Andrews, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I used red wine in place of red wine vinegar, and added sun-dried tomatoes and portobello mushrooms as one reviewer suggested. This recipe BLEW AWAY my boyfriend and mother when I had them over for dinner. They said it tasted like it was from a restaurant. I paired it with curried potatoes. Delicious! Will definately cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
Not to shabby! I did not think it was too much vinegar, I would serve this over rice next time, I also would consider adding some garlic at some point. I myself love flavor and cut this receipe down to serve just myself while the family was away. Something was missing, but worth taking a tumble at trying to flavor to your taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
My Family Loved this !!! Changed it a bit. Chopped the onion (used Red onion) so it was more like a relish or Chutney. served over a bed of Red skinned Mashed Potatoes. Yummy !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojito Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Excellent! I doubled the sauce but used 1/2 vinegar and half homemade broth in place of 2x the vinegar. I boiled some pasta and added some frozen veggies to the water, then poured the cooked chicken and sauce over the drained pasta/veggies and made a quick and dirty skillet meal. It was really good and both my kids ate it, which surprised me. I would make this again for company but keep the breasts whole for prettier presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2000
I enjoyed it a lot. The onions add a great flavour, and I really enjoy the combination of the red wine and balsamic vinegar! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
i found this tasting mostly just like vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
We really loved this recipe the second time through when we substituted a nice Merlot for the Red Wine Vinegar. The Balsamic is tangy enough for our taste without the Red Wine Vinegar. This is defenitely a great make again served over garlic butter egg noodles and fresh parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2004
I thought this was pretty good, but I also added garlic, and to cut the vinegar a bit, I added 1 tablespoon of turbinado sugar. Served over brown rice with steamed broccoli for a healty high-fiber meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States