Skillet Balsamic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
My family thought this recipe was very good. A very different flavor from ordinary chicken recipes. I'd slice the onions into rings so they would cook better. I used some dried oregano and some ground oregano, but not 2 tablespoons worth. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Pretty good...although I used a combo of 1/2 balsamic vinegar and 1/2 Marsala wine and cut way back on the oregano as I don't like a strong oregano flavor. But it was something a little different when you are tired of the same old chicken and I love sauteed onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2004
I like the base of this but the red wine vinegar is to strong and I am a vinegar lover. Next time I am trying some red wine instead. I used 1 tbsp of oregano and added the flour slowly and ended up only using a little better than a tbsp. My husband and son loved the meat but found the onions soaked up the vinegar flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
Way too much oregano...and I only put in half of what the recipe called for. We took a few bites and then rinsed the chicken off under the faucet to tone down the vinegar. Adding the flour made the sauce too thick. Not something I'll be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
We liked it. But agree that next time we may use the Merlot suggested and cut down on the vinegar. But it was quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
If you're going to try this make some changes first. I served it to a friend - who LOVES anything with vinegar - and even she said it was too intense. It might be better with a nice Merlot in place of the red wine vinegar. And I would skip the flour in the sauce - combined with the oregano it made a kind of paste. Not something I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbury, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
Yes, it will make you salivate because it is too tangy. Wasn't horrible, wasn't good either. Served it with rice. Rice absorbed some of the vinegar which made the meal edible. Not a recipe I will save.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moore, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
I really liked this, and it was so easy to make. Would be good with something sweet added, but I thought the tangy taste was a nice change from most chicken recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I didn't cut the breasts, but pounded them down. Cut the olive oil and chicken by half,used merlot instead of red wine vinegar, but left the rest of the ingredients as is. There was plenty of sauce, but serving 4 it would not make enough sauce for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
I thought this was very easy to make and it had a nice tartness to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States