Skillet Balsamic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Good recipe. I halfed it, but used about 75% of the vinegars and it was yummy. I will make again. Don't waste your time on the rue afterwards. Just cook it until the liquid is evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Balsamic vinegar is rarely more than 1/4 cup for a LARGE recipe b/c of it's pungent flavor. Some common sense adaptations on the part of this long-time cook were to add 1/4 balasamic vinegar and 1/2 cup red wine (a good flavored shiraz was what I used) instead of the measurements of red wine vinegar and balsamic vinegar given in the recipe. Also 2 Tbsp. oregano will give an overpoweringly strong oregano flavor. Substituting fresh basil and omitting the oregano altogether was also another no-brainer substitution. We also added some reconstituted sun-dried tomatoes (1/4 cup dry or 1/2 cup reconstituted) chopped and some sliced mushrooms (we used portabella's due to their mild flavor and ability to hold up to high heat & long cook times). After making those changes this recipe was fantastic! A lot of the previous reviews claim too strong a vinegar flavor which makes sense when you take the strongest flavored vinegar on the planet, add too much and then cook it down to make it even MORE so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
The vinegar flavor was way too strong and the onions soaked up alot of the vinegar flavor. I wouldn't make this recipe again without altering it alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
This recipe is easy to make and I have made substituions when I am out of one of the ingredients and it is still great! The smell is amazing and my family enjoys it every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAWANIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This recipe was very easy and quick to make, but the vinegar taste was way too overpowering. We ended up tossing the whole batch. I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This is very fast easy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I tried this recipe and thought it had way too strong of a balsamic vinegar taste... it needs something else to balance it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This was way too strong with the taste of the vinegars. Next time I think I would cut it with some chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
It was very stringent, it certainly cleared the sinuses whilst cooking. After I'd finished cooking it I dreaded the first bite thinking it would be way too tart, but it wasn't too bad. Need something to eat with it that is bland to contrast to the tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
It's way too tart, and the smell nearly ruined my nasal passages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States