Skillet Balsamic Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
My husband and I love it!! I make it just about once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Neptune, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Tasty and simple! I used quite a bit less vinegar (maybe 1/4 cup) and added dried basil. Didn't bother with the onion, because I served this with an onion/bell pepper/zucchini/tomato saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I give this recipe three stars both because I'm overly generous and my beau kind of enjoyed it while I was disgusted. I followed the advice of some reviewers and toned down the balsamic and red wine vinegars while also substituting basil for oregano. I just didn't like the taste of the balsamic vinegar. While it tastes good mixed with tuna as a diet food, it needs to be turned down a notch when flavoring dishes that are paired with another vinegar).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .¤neb

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I did not find the vinegar flavor to be too intense...but I planned on serving this with white rice and thought that it was a pretty pale looking combination..so threw in a handful of frozen green peas the last few minutes of cooking. Also mixed the flour with about 1/2 cup of water so there would be more sauce for the rice. If I make this again, I'll probably just leave the chicken breast whole and serve as the meat entree instead of as a "stir-fry."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Tried this with another reviewer's suggestion of using part red wine in place of the red wine vinegar. I can't say it lacked flavor... but in fact it was almost too potent. Might have been better over rice to give the dish more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I used red wine in place of red wine vinegar, and added sun-dried tomatoes and portobello mushrooms as one reviewer suggested. This recipe BLEW AWAY my boyfriend and mother when I had them over for dinner. They said it tasted like it was from a restaurant. I paired it with curried potatoes. Delicious! Will definately cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I fixed this for dinner last night and my husband could not quit complimenting me. I followed the advice of others and used 1/4 c. balsamic vinegar along with 1/3 c. of red wine vinegar. I mixed this in with 1/2 c. chicken broth and poured it over the chicken after it had browned. I also added a dash of basil with the oregano and 2 teaspoons of Italian dressing. Also, I did not have a fresh onion on hand, so I used dried minced onion. It was great served with garlic mashed potatoes and black-eye peas. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reshableu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Texas, USA
Living In: Andrews, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
Ugh, this is way too much vinegar. And I even cut down on it after reading others' suggestions. I had high hopes for this recipe as I love Balsamic. All is not lost though....I want to experiment with this and instead of using red wine vinegar, make a brown butter/balsamic sauce. This recipe has some potential, but as it stands, it's way too wangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAF1969

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I made this with the suggestions about using red wine and only a small amoutn of baslamic vineagar. I also added sliced baby bella mushrooms. It turned out good, but I thought the flour addition made the juices too much of a gravy. I'll make it again, but veto the flour, and only use one red onion intead of two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
My Family Loved this !!! Changed it a bit. Chopped the onion (used Red onion) so it was more like a relish or Chutney. served over a bed of Red skinned Mashed Potatoes. Yummy !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojito Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar

A wonderfully garlicky gourmet dish with chicken, vinegar, and mushrooms.

Braised Balsamic Chicken

This low-fat recipe makes a delicious dinner served over rice.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States