Skiers' French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This recipe was a 'hit' at school for our teacher's breakfast. The second time I made it, I was more careful with the syrup mixture to make sure it didn't boil and that way it didn't get so hard and chewy. I sprayed my glass dish with pam and it did not stick. I also added a dash or two of cinnamon to the egg mixture and it was excellent. Definitely a quick and easy dish to make and very easy to increase or decrease the size!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Don't waste your time or ingredients on this. I followed the recipe exactly as directed and couldn't eat it. It was soggy and looked like a sponge that needed to be wrung out. Besides that,the pan was a PAIN to clean! The syrup mixture hardened up so fast and needed a chisel to break it apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2002
I had my two grandkids, my sister-in-law and my brother-in-law all here for the weekend and was looking for something quick and easy to serve for Sunday breakfast that would please all. Well this recipe fit the bill. I made the french toast exactly as the recipe called for but i used regular store bought sliced cracked wheat bread instead of the unsliced white bread. I also buttered the baking dish before putting any ingredients in it. Everyone loved it, and my sister-in-law took the recipe home with her to try it herself. I was hoping to see how any leftovers would reheat in the microwave but needless to say there wasn't a scrap left to reheat. I will definitely make this again and thank you for making our Sunday morning so enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
This is a good recipe,an alternative to egg casseroles, however I would recommend covering the casserole with foil wrap during cooking. I used challah bread and cut into thick slices and the top/bottom was crusty and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I thought this recipe was fabubous! I loved the syrup! However, I did make a few modifications. I added 1 tsp. each of cinnamon and nutmeg. I sprayed the bottome of a glass 9"x13" pan w/cooking spray. I let the syrup mixture come to a boil before I poured it into the pan. I layered sliced french bread, crust on, over the syrup and then poured the milk egg mixture over that. I let it sit covered overnight in the fridge. The next morning, I placed the glass pan containing the french toast into a metal pan filled with 1/2" of water. I baked it in the oven, covered, for 30 min. I then uncovered the dish and baked it for an additional 20 min. It came out fantastic! The caramel syrup didn't stick to the pan at all and the bread was lightly toasted on top. This is one of my favorite new recipies and I know I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Montana, USA
Living In: Havre, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
This is fantastic. Great even with crusts left on the bread. Try variations using cinnamon toast or fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I made this for New Years day breakfast for a bunch of party goers and everyone loved it. It was very easy to make, although I did not trim the crust of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2000
I don't think i'll repeat this recipe. It was extremely sweet, that's why kids like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I used challah bread with crust, and baked it covered with foil until the last 20 minutes. The trick to keeping the syrup from candying/burning is to bake it in a "bain marie." It turns out perfectly as it should be: custard like french toast in pure buttery, syrupy sweetness. **** Bain Marie (water bath) A cooking method where "one container with food to be cooked is placed in another, larger pan containing water... This method of cooking surrounds the food with very gentle heat and is used for cooking delicate dishes like custards..."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Thought this would go over better with my kids but they couldn't stand it. I had to cook mine a lot longer than the recipe said to do. My husband and I liked the caramel flavor a great deal and think this would be nice for a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States