Skiers' French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
AWESOME! I used regular store bought sliced bread and removed the crusts. For the egg mixture I used farm fresh eggs but reduced the milk a tad to a little over a cup. I added cinnamon and nutmeg as well. Also I didn't let the syrup mixture simmer I just melted the butter with the sugar and used PAM on the dish first...a MUST with this dish. A new favourite - very fattening but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
The carmel was good but it used so many eggs that it was like a mushy custard or something, it was like wet bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This was awesome!! I followed the recipe exact, except using a little bit larger slices of cinniman-swirled bread and it was perfect! The sauce was perfectly crunchy and gooey- my husband still needed maple syrup, but not me. This is my NEW Night-Before-Christmas recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I'm in a quandary over this recipe. While the taste is unique and not unpleasant, it would best be described as a caramel breakfast custard as apposed to a "french toast". These are the things that I think make the best casserole. Use substantial bread, like a pan french loaf (crust on or off doesn't seem to make much difference). I have added chopped pecans over the caramel and prefer it this way. As per the recipe - I don't simmer the caramel - but just melt the sugar and butter together until well melted, then your caramel won't candy and crystalize on you. I have also thought that maybe next time I would make in individual ramekins and serve individually. This recipe definately has potentential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Thought this would go over better with my kids but they couldn't stand it. I had to cook mine a lot longer than the recipe said to do. My husband and I liked the caramel flavor a great deal and think this would be nice for a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Wonderful and quick weekday, weekend, or holiday breakfast. Top (corn syrup, brown sugar, and butter) are same ingredients for caramel corn topping. Really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDJ0213

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richton Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2005
This recipe was a 'hit' at school for our teacher's breakfast. The second time I made it, I was more careful with the syrup mixture to make sure it didn't boil and that way it didn't get so hard and chewy. I sprayed my glass dish with pam and it did not stick. I also added a dash or two of cinnamon to the egg mixture and it was excellent. Definitely a quick and easy dish to make and very easy to increase or decrease the size!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I made this for New Years day breakfast for a bunch of party goers and everyone loved it. It was very easy to make, although I did not trim the crust of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
Easy to make and everyone loved it at my brunch! I used crustless bread and because I could make it the night before it was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
Very good and easy breakfast recipe. I will work to improve the syrup mixture next time I make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States