Skiers' French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
First time we tried it it was a bit runny. Second time we cut the bread to 1" thickness (left the crust on), and increased the eggs to 7. It baked up perfectly. Other options: add chopped nuts to the syrup layer, and/or sprinkle cinnamon on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I thought this recipe was fabubous! I loved the syrup! However, I did make a few modifications. I added 1 tsp. each of cinnamon and nutmeg. I sprayed the bottome of a glass 9"x13" pan w/cooking spray. I let the syrup mixture come to a boil before I poured it into the pan. I layered sliced french bread, crust on, over the syrup and then poured the milk egg mixture over that. I let it sit covered overnight in the fridge. The next morning, I placed the glass pan containing the french toast into a metal pan filled with 1/2" of water. I baked it in the oven, covered, for 30 min. I then uncovered the dish and baked it for an additional 20 min. It came out fantastic! The caramel syrup didn't stick to the pan at all and the bread was lightly toasted on top. This is one of my favorite new recipies and I know I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Montana, USA
Living In: Havre, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. My bread was still soggy and wet at the end of time. Left it in longer and it puffed up nicely. Caramel sauce tasted great but was so stuck on pan I had to wash it 3 times. I will try making some changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Only one change I make...This is a huge hit for Christmas morning! The only change I make is to use cinnamon swirl bread instead of white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingAdam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I used challah bread with crust, and baked it covered with foil until the last 20 minutes. The trick to keeping the syrup from candying/burning is to bake it in a "bain marie." It turns out perfectly as it should be: custard like french toast in pure buttery, syrupy sweetness. **** Bain Marie (water bath) A cooking method where "one container with food to be cooked is placed in another, larger pan containing water... This method of cooking surrounds the food with very gentle heat and is used for cooking delicate dishes like custards..."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Yum yum , I have a sweet tooth and this recipe saticfied it .My kids loved it too, I sprinkled cinammon on top on the morning before baking .Thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nawal F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
My version is ever so slightly different in ingredient amounts. 2 Tbl lt corn syrup, 1 stick butter, 1/2 cup lt brown sugar, 1 loaf sliced bread (crust on) 6 eggs 1 1/2 Cup milk 1 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp salt. It has become a "mandatory" covered dish for our office Christmas breakfast, and for my family for Christmas morning. We love it....also can serve with sliced bananas or chopped walnuts or pecans but we like it plain best of all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMBRERO_SUE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
No one liked the syrup. The bread was also too soft
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Similar to creme brulee french toast, but with milk instead of half and half. I like the fact it feels healthier because of the lighter ingredients. I didn't overnight it but it still worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States